Spoil Your Kids

While I Am Cooking Up The Pork Chops For Dinner I Thought That I Would Reminisce About My Own Kids. It’s All Cynthia Fault. I Read Her Entry About Spoiling Kids. And It Got Me Thinking About All Of The Things I’ve Done With My Kids.

I’ve blown bubbles for them, we draw on the sidewalk with chalk, which my Landlady (also known as the “Dragonlady”) hates and I always have to remind her that it is chalk and it washes off every time it rains!

I have one of those small inflatable wading pools and I like to set it up in the middle of my kitchen floor and fill it with warm water and bubble bath. We sit in the kitchen during the winter and blow bubbles and play in the pool. When the kids are all finished we dump the water, and get out the mop and wash the floor, lots of towels may be used while doing this (which increases the laundry, in case any of you avid readers thought this was a good idea) but I believe it’s worth it.

We play in the rain, some of the parents at my kids school send their kids to school with umbrellas and not much else in the way of rain gear. They hate me and my kids, we come all decked out in raincoats, rain boots and umbrellas. Puddles are not our enemies!! There is nothing like a good thunderstorm. We love to sit and watch the lightning as it races across the sky!

Coloring, drawing, reading, once a week we have a family night where we play games or do some other activity that the kids pick out. Even homework nights are spent together, helping each other and having a good time… even while we finish of our work.

You don’t have to spend a ton of money on your kids for them to love you. Cynthia is right… none of that matters, not in the grand scheme!!

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in Diaryland, family, friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

