But She’s a Good Girl Doggy

I feel so violated, and used.
I wasn’t going to write about this, but then I thought to myself that if I can’t laugh at my own humiliation and then share that same humiliation with others, well then I’m a normal person. I just can’t handle that. So, let me give you some background info before I begin to spin my wicked web of degradation.
My dog is in heat. She should be done soon, but for now she’s attracting all the wrong types of doggies to our door – the horny kind!
Down the street from us is a beautiful Rhodesian Ridgeback (click here for some photos of the breed) The Ridgeback is my favorite breed of dog.  The Hubby and I have already discussed it and that is definitely the next type of dog we own.

Anyways, this boy that lives down the street from us (Shango) has come to visit us a few times now.    But yesterday was the worst, because they actually saw each other.  She sat in the window crying at him, he stood in the snow below, return her whines with a few of his own.  Then they moved to the door.  They stood there, each on the other side of the door, crying to each other.  Then he began to bang against the door.  He was trying to get to her.  It was really sort of sweet, but at the same time I could see him doing some damage to our door, or if the glass broke himself.  So, I got out Sky’s leash and headed off outside to take him home.
Everything was going well, he was reluctant to leave but he was following me.  And then it happened.  He sniffed my jacket, and suddenly I remembered that Sky had been rubbing against my coat before I left the house.  Oh No!
Suddenly he was all over me.  I tried to explain to him that I’m a nice girl and don’t do that on the first date, but he wasn’t listening.  He kept leaping up on me, and I had to keep fighting him off.  All the time trying to walk two blocks to his home.  The more insistent he got, the longer the walk to his home seemed.  He was awful.  I told him that he’d have to buy me dinner first.  But no.  He had a one track mind.
We passed by many people on the street, out shoveling the snow.  I laughed as I explained the situation to them.  A couple said why don’t I just let him go.  Why?  Because he’ll be right back at my house then and I’ll have to start all over, that’s why!
We finally made it to his home, I knocked and the owner let him in.  I explained that I had a Ridgeback when I was in high school and I understood how determined they were.  My Pogey used to bust the windows out and I’d get paged to the office to come and take my dog home.  We had to leave the front door unlocked, or leave a key with neighbors so when he busted out the upstairs windows someone could go in and pull him off of the roof.

Yep, that was my day!

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in pets, skye and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

