Dark Cloud of Public Transit

There is a dark cloud hanging over our fair city this weekend, and no matter how nice the weather is and how much fun anyone has it will not go away.
The TTC, Toronto Transit Commission, our public transit is threatening to go on strike if the negotiations do not progress over the weekend.
What that means is that if the strike is called, the drivers for the early shift will not be showing up for work. I don’t know what the key items in the negotiations are, so I can’t say who is right or wrong, if anyone is actually wrong.
But I do know that if there is a strike on Monday, it will be very difficult for me to get into work. I’ll either have to walk it, or take a cab.
Walking would be a healthy way to go, and I don’t start work until 2:00 in the afternoon, so it’s not like I’d have to be rushing out to leave first thing in the morning. But it will take a long time to get there, over an hour and a half, most likely. I’ve never walked it so I’m not sure.

As for taking a cab, all of my money is budgeted, every nickel and dime, even the pennies. So I don’t think there is money left over for me to take a cab. I’ll have to sit down this weekend and look over the finances.

Now I am lucky, I am in a position that if I have to I most likely can walk to work. But there are people out there in this fair city who are not in that boat.
My mother and sister in law are not in a position to walk to work. Both of them have jobs that are a very good distance away from their homes and not being able to take public transit to work will be a very big hardship on them.

This looming strike and the people who depend on the TTC to get them to and from their work, grocery shopping, etc. has made it so that discussions about how the TTC is a necessity and that they shouldn’t be allowed to strike, like EMS personnel and fire and police.
The TTC strikes don’t usually last that long, the longest was in the 70’s (I think it was around 1975) and it lasted for abut 23 days. Now that doesn’t sound like that long, unless you are one of the people who rely on the TTC to get you to your place of employment, suddenly you have to come up with alternate method of getting to work, or you stay home, get your boss pissed off and lose the income that you need.

Like I said earlier, I don’t know what the sticking points are, so I can’t say whether I agree with the strike or not. All I can say is that I’m worried about what’s going to be happening here come Monday morning.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

