Spilling the Beans is Just Plain Mean

I have become one of those people in this world that ruin the ending of something for other folks.

On Friday night I was at work, getting ready to leave, I was in the personnel office and waiting for Hubby to pick me up.
I was there with two other girls and we were discussing some of our favorite TV shows, and of course some of the reality shows came up in discussion.
“My kids are addicted to Survivor.” I smiled, thinking about how it’s been a tradition in my family to sit down together and watch the show every Thursday and discuss who we like the best, who we hate and compare the survivor’s strategies and our own, if we were there.

So on Friday night I told how Sean and Ceilidh love that show so much, have loved it since the very first season. One of the girls smiled and said that she loves that show as well.
“My kids were so heartbroken last night,” I paused a few seconds and then very slowly said “when so-and-so was voted out!”
Her head hit the desk and she moaned “I haven’t seen it yet! I was closing last night!”
“Oh my god! Why didn’t you stop me! A simple hand up and ‘Stop’ would have been enough to get me to keep my mouth shut!” I felt so bad and had to have apologized about a million times.

That is one of my pet peeves, folks who spill the beans about the plot or the surprise ending of a book or movie.
I’ve even gone so far as to refuse to read a book or see a movie because somebody (mostly my Hubby) has given away the entire plot along with the twisted, surprise ending that nobody is supposed to see coming.
And now I am one of those people.
Great!

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in Me, misc, tv. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spilling the Beans is Just Plain Mean

  1. Anonymous says:

    >Don't feel too bad!!! IF someone has not seen an episode they have to be a little more proactive by warning people that they have not seen it yet. My brother will let everyone know he PVR'd whatever car race it was and asks that we not tell him. This does lead to taunting but we never spoil it for him!!!

Share Your Thoughts

