Job Makes Me Bitter, Just a Bit

I sat down yesterday and redid the budget and discovered that in a few months the Hubby will be making more than enough money to cover the bills, that means that I don’t have to work.
That means that I can rethink my job, and what I’m thinking is that I might quit. It’s frustrating to work at a job where you aren’t really respected by management, and it’s more than obvious because your manager avoids your department like the plague, when you ask for assistance they act like you just asked if you could pull out all of their teeth and make a necklace out of them. The scheduling is done haphazardly and is full of mistakes, that when you bring them to the managers attention she says “I’m aware of the situation!” in a snide manner and then does nothing until the last minute, meaning hours before the scheduling conflict is about to happen, to rectify the thing.

What I’m now thinking is that since we can afford it, I’m just going to work to cover redecorating the house and once that’s done I’m quitting and going back to school full time so that I can get my certification in early childhood education and hopefully get a job as an Education Assistant for children in the school system who are either physically disabled or have learning disabilities.

I know that any job that I get will have problems with managers, but I’d rather have problems with management and supervisors while doing a job that I feel makes a difference, instead of one that just enables lazy parents to complain that the world isn’t kissing their darling psychopaths buttocks, or enables people to spend more time shopping and thus buy more stupid crap that they most likely don’t really need, they just want in an attempt to make them think that their sucky little lives are really as bad as they think, when in reality that new sofa isn’t going to be the glue that fixes their marriage and they’ll still end up in divorce court, only now they’ll have a really nice house to show when they put it up in the real estate market.

Hmm, do you think that I’ve become bitter about the people of this world? Lately my mantra has become ‘People really are that stupid’ and I hate that my world is now colored that way.
People are so busy, and their time is so important that they don’t even have time to wait for me to answer their questions.
So many times a day folks ask me the same questions over and over again, and as I’m in the midst of answering them they walk away. Then they are back in a minute or so and yelling at me, telling me that I lied. No dumb ass, if you’d waited until I was done you’d have heard that once you get to the hanging blinds you go through a short cut to the end of the store, that isn’t the end of the store. Grrr!

No, I’d rather have a job assisting a child that is struggling through school, either through a disability or a learning difficulty. I know that I’d have to deal with the same type of parent, folks who believe their precious child is the future ruler of the universe, and supervisors who might seem incompetent and sometimes wont give a damn about supporting their coworkers, but at the end of it all I’ll be able to pat myself on the back and know that I tried to make a difference in a child’s life and that maybe not today and maybe not in a year but perhaps some day down the road that child will remember me and the effort I made to helping them get a leg up in life and be grateful for it.
And of course for every negative response I get from parents, children and supervisors, I’ll have the kids that are full of charm and try their hardest and accomplish so much through the hard work that both they and I are putting forth. Those are the moments that would make me know the job is worthwhile, not one that just allows folks to spend more.

But first I need to redo the house, because after so many years of barely getting by the furnishings in my home are really on their last legs. My sofa, which a friend gave to me when they got their new one and is currently almost as old as EB (14 years), is being held up by a therapy mat that we used to prop up the side with the broken leg. My dining room table, also from the same friend that gave us the sofa is on it’s last legs, literally. The legs of the table are giving and thus we need a new table.
I do not have a bed frame for my bed, instead the mattress and box spring are on the floor. All the dressers in this house are hand me downs from friends and family. Actually I think pretty much all the furniture in this house are hand me downs, and the stuff that isn’t is actually about as old as EB.

So you see, it’s time to fix this house up. Not only furniture wise, but it needs a fresh coat of paint, new curtains and some nice decorative touches and voila, it shall no longer be a house, but a home.

But as soon as I’ve got my house the way I want it, I’m quitting my job and most likely heading back to school.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in work. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

