Dirty or Clean? It’s not a 50-50 Chance

I am so frustrated today, and it’s all because of Sean and Ceilidh, or as I’m preferring to call them today, Dippy and Dopey!

We have a portable dishwasher, the kind that you have to move over and hook up to the sink. Life can get kind of inconvenient because I have a narrow, galley style kitchen and the dishwasher blocks the way through the kitchen which just also happens to be the main pathway to the back of the house where the dining room, laundry room and backyard entrance are located.
But I’ve managed to find a way to use that dishwasher so that the rest of the family are not inconvenienced, and that is to use the dishwasher, either in bed sleeping or just before I leave for work when they aren’t home, trust me this makes it easier because I don’t have to listen to the multitudes of complaining and crying about not being able to get a drink, or get into the fridge and I’m happy that I have unlimited access to the laundry room because lets face it, it seems that laundry is my life right now.

But while I am happily moving that dishwasher back and forth and ensuring that my family is actually able to eat off of clean dishes, it is actually Sean and Ceilidh‘s responsibility to load and unload that sucker.
But I came home from work last night and to my utmost dismay I discovered that all my children had in fact already loaded the dirty dishes into the dishwasher, but sadly they had decided to skip the part where they unloaded the clean ones first.
I wish that I could say that this is the first time that those little darlings had done that, but I’m sad to report that I have had to get upset about this so many times that I am in the moment of trying to come up with an adequate punishment that will make those kids hate it so much that they’ll think that taking a few moments to check for clean dishes first before loading will be well worth it.

Today we have very little clean dishes in the house, and that’s because I refuse to wash those dishes, yet again. I’m making them clean up and they aren’t allowed to use the dishwasher. They have to clean all those dishes, plus the ones that we used last night themselves. I’m thinking that should cure the little buggers of just throwing the dirty dishes in with the clean.

I’m also going to rig up a little message system, when I wash the dishes I’m going to have a card on front of the dishwasher, held on by a magnet that reads ‘Clean‘ and when those dishes have been unloaded and the dirty ones put in, the card will be flipped over to read ‘Dirty‘.
It’s a radical move, a pretty daring one if you ask me. Will they take the time to read the card? Will they give a damn or will things continue as they are because my kids are lazy and just don’t give a damn about doing things the right way?
Well they now know that if they do this again they will be exposed to getting ‘dishpan hands‘ and I wont have any sympathy for the dears because they don’t have any for me.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in complaints, home, Kids and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

