Storms Causing Puppy Anxiety

Terrible thunderstorms have been hitting my area for what feels like forever but in reality has only been since about 4 or 5 days or so. These storms have been awful, thunder that felt like it was beating against your chest, lightning that was so close sometimes that I swear you could almost smell the burnt ozone. It’s been terrible. One night the thunder and lightning were so close I swear it was actually shaking my house. I thought for certain that my entire house would be woken by the storm, but in reality it was only Sean and myself. Everyone else slept right through it.
The next day I learned that Warren’s house had been hit by lightning and that it had fried most of the electronics in his home, which really sucks.

And while these storms have brought terrifying if not beautiful bolts of electricity crackling through the air and deafening claps of thunder they have also brought a bit if pity combined with humor for my dog.
The poor thing is terrified of thunder and lighting, each storm has made her more jumpy than the last. She’s taken to pacing back and forth and attempting to climb into any tight space she can find. One terrible night I found her trying to squeeze in behind my toilet in the bathroom, which isn’t an easy thing to do for a Husky. A Chihuahua might have no problem but a fully grown Husky has more than a little difficulty.
She has taken to trembling and crying when even the smallest droplet of rain falls from the sky, terrified that thunder and lightning will be soon to follow.

I wish that there was some way that I could console the poor little pooch, but there isn’t, I’ve tried. And while I can see how distressed she is about all of this, I know that she’ll be alright and that the thunder and lighting aren’t going to hurt her in the least, so I can also laugh at her antics as she attempts to try and sneak over to the door and say hi to me or the Hubby when we come home from work only to be chased back into her hiding spot by a clap of thunder. A few seconds later once the thunder has stopped she’ll try to run back over to us, only to have yet another clap of thunder send her flying for cover.
She ended up running back and forth at full throttle for almost five minutes, desperate to say hello and terrified that the storm would get her. I didn’t know whether to cry for her or to laugh at her, the poor dear.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in pets and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

