Happy Birthday Ceilidh

It’s hard to believe that 12 years ago today I brought my daughter into this world. Looking back now I remember mostly the joy of holding her in my arms, the way her soft little blue eyes stared back up into my own. The emotion I felt as I checked out all her little fingers and toes, stroked her arms and legs and just made certain that she was as perfect as she seemed was so overwhelming.
I don’t really remember the pain associated with childbirth. I do know that I was in labour for almost 2 weeks with her. The labour started while I was at a friends house and it cut the visit short, and all the way home I twisted and squeezed the husbands hand whenever a contraction hit. We went to the hospital, only to have my labour slow down to a crawl. I was still getting those contractions, but they were less, or non-progressive, as the doctor called them.
She sent me home.
I lay at home, getting hit by what felt to me like horrible contractions. I couldn’t sleep, I couldn’t do much with Sean, who was only two at the time and really wanted Mommy to take him to the park, every single day.
I made two more trips to the hospital when the contractions got super strong and 5 minutes apart, only to have the slow down once again when we got there. Sigh! Of course we were sent home.

Finally the last time I went to the hospital and discovered that my baby was still fucking with Mommy, I told the doctor that we’d reached my due date and that I’d decided that there was just no way in hell I was going home without a baby in my arms this time. She agreed that this was getting to be a bit much and we decided that I was going to be induced that day.

Hours later I’m hooked up to an epidural and they’ve flooded my system with that wonderful labour inducing drug via IV drip. I didn’t feel the contractions but everyone assured me that they were coming strong and hard.

After a very quick, pain free three hours went by the doctor looked up and handed me my daughter, and it was love at first sight.

Over the years she’s been a constant source of joy, aggravation, frustration and the cause of the happiest times in my life. She’s made me laugh harder than anyone else in this whole world.

I Love Her to Bits,

Happy Birthday Baby.
About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in Kids, special occasions. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

