A Nice Day, Despite the Old Bat’s Bitching

I had a nice day with the family today. We got up sort of late, which made the Hubby a bit grumpy, since he wanted to get up and get doing things ASAP.
I guess we just have different styles, on days off he wants to get up early with the sun and squeeze as much stuff into the day as possible, while I like to just go along and do things as we find the time. I don’t see the point in rushing around trying to do fun things all day, so that at the end of the day you just feel hectic and rushed and exhausted. What’s the point in that?

So I got Dev fed and we cleaned up a bit, I wasn’t rushing to clean though. My priority wasn’t a clean house for the day but heading out of the house. Which we were late doing, because while I was doing things like feeding Dev, getting him stretched and dressed, Hubby went online to play WoW and anyone who knows that game understands that you don’t just pop on for 20 minutes, it’s at least an hour or so.

But we finally managed to make it out the door, and we headed down to the tennis courts to whack a few balls with the kids. I don’t think I mentioned that we got new tennis rackets this spring?? I keep reading Boxx’s stories about tennis and it got me thinking that maybe that would be something fun for the family to do. So we’ve bought the rackets and today was day one in our attempt to play tennis together.
We discovered that Ceilidh doesn’t like to hit the balls, it’s like she’s afraid she’s going to hurt them or something. Sean likes to whack the balls off to the side or over the fence and I’m just klutzy. But we laughed and had a good time, and that was the point.

We came home and Sean and Ceilidh headed to a friends house and then to the pool for a swim, while Hubby and myself stayed home and prepared some tasty chicken, noodles and salad for dinner. Yum!

I played with Dev for a bit while we made dinner. I kept talking to him about Summer Camp and asking him if he was going there tomorrow, to which he responded with a big old grin and lots of laughter.
He’s very excited about Summer Camp, and happy to be going.

I enjoyed the day very much, despite the crazy old bitch who decided to pull over beside the tennis courts and yell at me that Dev should be sitting in the shade because ‘the baby is going to get sun stroke’.
Would she have yelled that at me if he’d been a fully normal 10 year old boy standing there playing tennis with me? I don’t think so. But because he’s sitting in a wheel chair stupid crazy bitches like that feel the need to tell me what’s good for him.
I just waved to her, said ‘Thank-you’ and hoped she shut up, which she didn’t. She kept yelling at me, until I finally had enough and told her to F-off.
She wanted me to wheel him over to this shaded corner of the tennis court, only that area was filled with mosquito’s and other bugs and my little boy has very sweet blood. He’s always getting bitten by bugs, every where we go the bugs just love him. So in my opinion he’s better off with the sun than with the shade.
I’m so tired of folks jumping to conclusions. I’m tired of their ignorance. I wish they’d just stop thinking that they know what’s best for my son. He’s been in my care for the past decade and hasn’t come to any harm during that time so I guess I must be doing something right.

Thankfully that old bat didn’t ruin my day, sadly because that sort of thing is actually a regular occurrence. I’m so used to it that most times it doesn’t bother me at all. The reason I lost my cool this time is because she just wouldn’t shut up.

Well I’m off to bed now, got to get Dev up and off onto the bus in the morning.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Nice Day, Despite the Old Bat’s Bitching

  1. boXx says:

    >That's really is crazy that strangers feel they have the right to tell you how to parent. sheesh. That wouldn't go over too well with me either. mother bear. My sister in-law has been known to give parenting advice (she has no kids of her own) and it always pisses me off.

Share Your Thoughts

