Take the Kids to the Library

Took Sean and Ceilidh  to the library today and forced them to take out books to do some reading. Ceilidh struggles with her reading because of her dyslexia, but she’s working on it and is coming a long way with her battle.
She took out Alice in Wonderland, Little Women and Treasure Island. I tried to get her to try something a little easier but she wouldn’t have it. She did a quick read, perusing through a few pages to ensure she was able to read those books without too much difficulty, and she decided that she wanted all three.
She’s as giddy as a sugar addict in a candy store, it’s way too precious. The minute we got home she asked me to fix her an ice tea so she can sit in the back yard, sip her tea and read about Alice’s adventures.

Sean on the other hand, has to be forced to peruse through any sort of reading material. He’s the real reason for the trip to the library, this boy has bought book after book after book from the book store and each one has laid neglected on the book shelf. He always gets the same genre (magic and fantastical creatures, Harry Potter, The Golden Compass, Bridge to Terabithia) and he never reads a one. He then blames his Dad and myself, saying that we don’t let him get what he wants. Whatever, I guess standing there asking him to look at all different types of books, not just the fantasy ones is forcing him to just get that genre. What ever!

So Hubby and I refuse to purchase that boy anymore books until he’s started to read a few, hence the library trip because he swears he hates all the books in the house.
He picked out a Hardy Boys mystery and a book called ‘Boys Rock‘ which is actually the 11th book in a 12 book series. But don’t tell Sean that, he’ll be upset because he doesn’t like to read a series out of order. Or at least that’s been his excuse for not reading certain books that we have, because we’re missing the first book in a series, or someone else is reading book one or something along those lines.
Let him read the book first, and if he likes it then he can go back and get the other 10 to enjoy.

I’ve been fighting with Sean for a couple of years now, trying to get him to read. I no longer care if he enjoys the reading, it’s something that he has to do. He is a terrible reader and he’ll only get better with practice, and that means that I have to force him, whether he likes it or not.

Anyways, I’m trying to decide whether I should continue reading The Winter King or to start Jane Eyre. Hmm, dilema.
Perhaps I’ll just have to read both at once, it’s not like I haven’t done that before.

Have I ever mentioned how much I love to read books? There is just something so moving and spectacular about reading a book for the first time. Hubby says that it’s like I’m a crack addict and books are my form of crack. I don’t know if that’s true, I do know that I become totally obsessed with reading when I’ve got a good book to read, it’s all I can think about. I’ll pause reading only long enough to cook dinner or clean the house, but the entire time I’m doing those things I’m thinking about how I can find a way to get back to my book faster.
I really do love to read.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in Kids, misc. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

