LB’s Woes and EB’s Birthday Dilemma

Oh my God that last entry started off alright but by the end, it became something painful to read. I’m sorry, apparently it seems that ‘sleep typing’ for me is very close to drunk typing for the rest of the world. Apologies!

So today is the last day for Dev’s summer camp and as I put him on the bus he had this terrible pouty frown plastered across his face and he wasn’t his bouncy, happy little self this morning. Even the fact that tomorrow is Sean’s birthday didn’t put a smile on his face for more than a few seconds, I kept telling him about how he’s going to have to help me make Sean a cake, and how we’re going to sing Happy Birthday to him, and then of course there is the mandatory eating of said yummy and delicious cake. There was a brief upturning of the corners of his mouth but it was so fast that perhaps I only imagined it, then it was back to frowny town central.

I was telling one person how much Dev hates being home for the holidays, and how he’s not that much fonder of weekends and they wondered if perhaps I wasn’t doing enough for him during those times.
Hello? Um he’s an almost 10 year old boy who only gets to see his friends when he’s at school, it’s not about being with Mom and Mom not being amusing, it’s about missing his friends who live scattered all across this city and I’ve tried to plan get togethers with these kids but it’s just damn hard.
So for Christmas Break, March Break and the Summer Holidays I have to live with a pouty faced little lad who misses his friends a whole lot. Of course we are able to make him happy and we do force him to have fun. So he’s not a complete misery for those entire times, it’s just when he thinks about it, he gets sad. Who wouldn’t?

So, as you may have figured from some of my earlier writing here, tomorrow is Sean’s birthday and this boy is frustrating the crap out of me. I figure this is the last birthday party he’s going to have, I mean the last ‘child-like’ one that he’ll have.
When I was his age I stopped wanting to do stuff with my family for my birthday and I’d always head out with my friends. I figure that Sean will be heading along the same path next year. So I wanted to do something nice for him, and I’ve given him about a million suggestions and all he has to do is pick one, I’ve even included parent free ideas and he just can’t seem to pick one.
I asked him if he even wants to do anything and he swears he does, but he refuses to commit to anything.
First he wants a get together at the house, then he doesn’t. Then he wants to head out to the movies with his friends, and come back here to gorge themselves on crap, and then he doesn’t. It’s just damned frustrating. I’m thinking I’m just going to do something for the family on the weekend and if he ever decides what he wants with his friends then he’ll get that then.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

