Belated Birthday Entry

Yesterday was Sean’s birthday and I was bad and didn’t do my annual little write up about my child on the anniversary of their birth. I did write one and post it on Facebook, but not here. So for your enjoyment I shall post it here as well because honestly tonight I’m feeling way to hot, too tired and just a tad bit annoyed to write something here about Sean.

It’s hard to write about the birth of my firstborn child without getting all moody and maudlin. As I sat in that hospital holding my son in my arms, staring into his big blue eyes I couldn’t help myself, I wept for the sheer joy of it.  It’s hard to believe that he’s no well into his teen years and getting full of himself, lots of attitude and his stubborn streak is beginning to show. He’s bossy and thinks that he knows pretty much everything about anything that ever was.
Welcome to life with a teen, and the journey only gets harder from here.  As a little boy he was full of smiles and joy, our lives are full of so many happy memories together. The times we just sat together, reading and snuggling on the sofa are some of my favorite times with him.The times that we filled up a tiny splashing pool in the middle of the kitchen floor and let him play in it with his toys and tones of bubbles instead of making him take a regular bath, the times he sat in the giant chip bowl because we just couldn’t convince him that it wasn’t a seat, they were joyful times indeed, even if he doesn’t remember those days.
Slowly Sean is starting to put aside the childish things of his past aside, the toys he cherished so highly and were the items in his life that he could not live without, now sit in his closet abandoned to a life of dust gathering and neglect. His priorities are slowly changing from those of child who needs the newest toy on the market to that of a young man, looking for friendships, relationships and he’s beginning to have a drive to have what he needs.
But he’s still childish enough to not want to put the time and effort into what needs to be done to achieve his goals, he still needs his Mom and Dad to help pick him up when he falls down, to dust him off and put him back on that bike.

I marvel everyday at the changes he’s undergoing and it stuns me to watch as that sweet angelic boy is slowly disappearing and being replaced by this person who is growing up under my eyes, whether I want him to or not.

 Happy Birthday EB


(Yup, once he died his hair as pink as an Easter Egg. You can bet that I’ll be holding onto that picture for future blackmailing purposes.)

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in special occasions. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

