The One Where I’m Not Having a Good Day

>Today was one of those days where I wished I’d just stayed in bed all day.

I guess it all started yesterday, when I was getting Dev out of bed. When I went to get the boys out of bed I gave Sean a playful little smack on his butt and told him to get out of bed. As I bent down and began to lift Dev out of bed, Sean chose that moment to get revenge and give me a smack back. This smack made me twist while leaning forward and holding onto a 40 pound boy, which means that I hurt my back and am now living in a world of agony (as anyone who has had to suffer with a sore back can fully understand).

I spent most of the day nursing my back and praying that it wouldn’t hurt so much coming this morning.

Of course my damn prayers weren’t answered and I went into work today with a totally sore back, and of course the cleaners left the inner door open, which means the safety locks on the two outer doors wont work. Well they do actually work, they are locked permanently until the inner door is closed, which leaves me locked out, unless I climb over the outer wall and close the inner door, which is what I did. Of course this added a whole lot more ouch to my pain, thanks cleaners!

But before any of that happened while I was opening this morning, let me explain that it was pissing rain this morning, which meant that not only was my back hurting, but I was dealing with a headache, I over slept because of it and of course everything was soaked through. All in all, not a fun way to start the day.

Then at work today it was just crazy! Customers were swarming all over the place, there was a constant line up of grumpy, unsatisfied customers waiting to sign their children into our area and of course there was a lot of complaints, which while we are sympathetic to the parents reasons for being upset, we are powerless to do anything about it. We work for a large corporation and we don’t get to set policy for our area, as much as we’d love to.

The only thing that made the day bearable were the people I work with. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I’m so lucky to get to work with a great group of people.

Then, when I finish work, my Mom wants me to go over there to celebrate Sean’s birthday since she didn’t get to the other day due to her being at work. I can’t do it though, Hubby is heading to bed early tonight and I just can’t walk all the way back from my Mom’s tonight. My back is just aching so much, so I get to miss out on that as well.

DevB is all smiles when he, Hubby, Sean and my Mom pick me up from work. He’s laughing and all happy, until we drop Sean and my Mom off at the house, and then he realizes we’re not going there and he gets all pouty, and as the door closes to the van he cries out ‘Noooo’ and starts to cry a bit.
But I ask him if he’s going to help me eat that cherry pie we bought at the Farmer’s Market yesterday morning and he cheers up, but isn’t convinced he’s happy about it all, and fluctuates back and forth between laughing and crying.

Poor boy.

It’s 5:30 now, supper is almost ready and DevB is calling me to read a book by his favorite author (Robert Munsch) so I guess it’s time to say good bye and read to my favorite little guy.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The One Where I’m Not Having a Good Day

  1. Volly says:

    >Hope you feel better soon. If you don't already have a massaging cushion (Homedics makes them), consider it — I've found it does more good for a sore back than any drug.

Share Your Thoughts

