The One Where my Kids Read

First things first, the pain in my back is not feeling any better today, which sucks because I want it to get better A.S.A.P. because I have plans this weekend and one of them is playing tennis with my kids.
Well actually it wont be tennis, so much as teaching the kids how to hit a ball with their racket and actually make it over the net.
So you can see how my having a back that feels better is a necessary thing. Not to mention this pain in my back is severely limiting the stuff that I can do with LB and that’s pissing me off.

The news at work is crazy and insane. There are changes being made and so far not one of my coworkers are happy with what came down the pipeline to us today. There were only 3 of us affected so far, but that’s only because it was just the three of us there to be upset. I’m sure as my other co-workers head into work and are made aware of the situation they’ll be just as pissed as we all are.

It’s very quiet here tonight, but that’s only because I’ve got Sean and Ceilidh reading, yup you read that right. The kids are reading, not fighting me on this reading thing. They are sitting silently and Sean has made it almost half way through an entire book. I’m so excited about this whole thing. Really, I am.
Of course if I get too happy then it might jinx it, and that would suck. So I’ll shut up about the whole thing right now.

Ceilidh is attempting to read Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by herself, with no assistance from any adult. This is great. She’s getting so confident in her reading skills, her goal is to have gotten enough practice in before school starts in September that the teacher is surprised by how great her reading skills are, she wants to be better than what her report says.
A good goal to reach for, and she couldn’t pick a better book, to start with.

I’m about half way through Jane Eyre, well maybe not half way, but a good deal in, and I have to say that I’m enjoying it. But then I pretty much knew that I would. Sadly I feel sort of guilty because I have some other books to read as well, and I’m putting them off to finish Jane because she has to go back to the library on the 31st while the other books will be here for a while. Some for an indefinite period and the other permanently, since I bought it. But I still feel as though I should be diving right into them and devouring them up like I normally do.
It’s just that Jane is so captivating, and even though I know what’s going to happen next, I find myself caught up in the words and they are so compelling that I feel almost as though I’m not familiar with the tale of Jane Eyre.
It’s hard to describe, and I’m really not doing that good a job of it. I just find that through the bleakness and lack of excitement in her poor life, I want to get to the end of the book and find some semblance of happiness for the poor, ill-used child.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

