8 Is a Lucky Number??

According to Chinese Philosophy the number 8 is lucky, so folks figured that a day with lots of 8’s in it, such as August 8th, 2008 (8.8.08) should be a super lucky day.
But I keep thinking that sometimes too much of a good thing can be a bad thing, and as the day unfolded and seemed to be go to hell in a hand basket and in a hurry, I kind of figured that maybe I was right.

The day started off on a bad foot when I woke up and wasn’t feeling all that great. I lay in bed repeatedly hitting the snooze button and contemplating whether I should call in sick or if I should just go into work? As I lay watching the minutes tick away I had to keep reminding myself that I had to catch the 8:30 bus in order to make it to work on time.
Finally at 8:00 (notice the number there people) I said screw it and got myself out of bed and rushed through my morning routine so that I was out the door and managed to catch my bus as well. Things seemed to be going pretty well, but sometimes appearances can be deceiving.

I get to work in time and I start to go through all my procedures for opening, already there is a long line of parents who are anxious to drop off their little ones forming. Just before 10:00 I notice that my co-worker who is supposed to come in and work in my department at ten isn’t in the entrance where she normally is prior to coming into our department. I call my manager and he has no clue that she isn’t at work. I ask him what’s going to happen just as the announcement comes over head telling everyone that the store is open for another glorious day. He tells me he’ll call her and see what’s going on.
That leaves me standing there with no answers and a line of parents. I smile and explain what’s going on and how there has to be two co-workers at all times when there are children, one to supervise and one to sign in and out.
About 10 minutes go by and I call the manager again but he still has no answers and now the parents are getting mad. They start telling me that I should get someone else sent down to help, which trust me if I could I would’ve already. It’s just that there are no extra co-workers in the store.

At 10:30 I’m tired of being yelled at and not having an answer to give the parents so I call my manager and we agree that the department wont be opening until 12:00 when the next person is scheduled to come in, I make the announcement to the waiting parents and hurry out of the department to do some prep for when we open. I photocopied about 800-900 pictures for the kids to color, helped my manager with a couple of other things and took my first break all before the next person arrived.

Things should have gotten better at that point, but they didn’t. People were lined up to sign in at noon and within seconds we were full to capacity and everyone else had to wait for an hour to sign in. Sadly for the rest of the day we had a great exodus on the hour as well as a grand entrance. Everyone came in on the hour after the other kids had left on the hour. Which meant that everyone had to wait an hour to sign their children in, so all day long we had to deal with complaints and frustrated parents. It was a fun day.

On top of it, Melissa was feeling sick. I was feeling sick and both of us just wanted to go home.

Finally it’s time to leave and when I get home I discover that Robert has come and gone because the other two kids were ignoring Dev. There was a whole lot of whoop ass handed out at that point. Sean had a friend over and he basically hung out with him and tried to get Ceilidh to do everything with Dev, and she didn’t do anything so that meant that Dev just sat there being left alone.
Thankfully Robert came over because he got Dev‘s bottom changed and he himself had to give him a drink, which he had to argue with the kids about first.

Needless to say those two are on serious grounding and punishment detail for a very long time. They hadn’t done any of their chores, they’d ignored their brother and they’d lied to me over the phone when I’d called from work to see how things were going and they told me they’d looked after Deb already and were almost done their chores.
Sean had asked if he could have a friend over and I’d said yes, as long as the chores were done first.
Needless to say I wasn’t impressed.

And they say that this day is supposed to be lucky?
Well they don’t say if it’s good luck or bad… so perhaps it was my lucky day after all!

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in family, Kids and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

