Debate Over Olympic Sports


Well the Olympics are here again, and I’ve been neglectful in blogging about how my entire household is transfixed in front of the television, watching each and every single event that they can.
EB has discovered sports that he never even dreamed existed. He’s been inspired to try new sports, and honestly it’s become a great motivational tool (as in “Do your chores or you can’t watch the swimming tonight, and do you want to miss out on that??” sort of thing)

But it’s also brought about the Great Debate in my household again, and honestly I’m just tired of trying to defend my part in the debate. I can feel myself slipping into conceding the point to the husband and just giving up completely.

Every time the Olympics roll around the Hubby always questions how events that depend on judges can actually be deemed a sport.

I say that it’s not how the points are made but on the the physical need and ability that terms it a sport, but he thinks that if it depends on someone else’s view on how you performed that ability then it’s tainted and isn’t an honest representation. Of course he throws up that whole skating debacle in which the judges robed Canada of the gold because of a personal bias. I can’t remember the entire thing right now, and honestly I’m just too tired and lazy to go and look it up.

I used to stick to my guns hard and strong, but ever since that whole skating thing I just don’t have the will or the ground to stand on. His argument has been proven and I just don’t see how I can take it back right now.

Now don’t get me wrong, we are not taking anything away from the people who compete in these events. We understand that they work very damn hard to reach this pinnacle in their careers, and we do know the physical demands that their sports require. We are not taking anything away from them. It’s just that Hubby figures that once the human element is involved in the form of a judge it suddenly can be about so much more than just the athletes physical prowess. Suddenly politics can become a part of it, perhaps a personal bias that the judge has against a certain athlete, who knows how a human mind can corrupt something that is supposed to be a pure form of competition and the spirit of good sportsmanship. The ways are uncountable.

I guess all I’m saying is that while the athletes are working their hardest to perfect their A game, the presence of the judges could make it so that their A game just might not be good enough.
I never felt that way, but it seems that perhaps I’m throwing in the towel and letting the Hubby take the gold in this event.
Can you convince me otherwise??

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in commentary, news. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

