Lets Talk Animation

Bambi, I haven’t thought of that movie in a while and as movies go it isn’t one of my favorites but I think that has mostly to do with the fact that when I first saw that movie I was a young little Kitten and at that point in my life I had no clue that a persons parents wouldn’t always be with them.
That movie introduced me to death and I remember sitting in the movie theatre feeling so sick to my stomach.
That’s all I remember about the fist time I saw Bambi, I remember the sweet little scene where all the woodland creatures come to welcome the new Prince of the Forrest, I remember Thumper being all naughty and getting scolded by his Mom. I remember Bambi, Thumper and Flower going off to play and Thumper and Flower teaching Bambi the names of all the things in the forest. And I remember feeling sick for the rest of the movie.
Of course I never let anyone know that Bambi had such an effect on me. For the most part I did enjoy the movie the first time I saw it, it’s just that in my memory that feeling overshadows everything else.
I’ve watched Bambi a million times since then and I’ve never had to relive the experience of that fist viewing. I haven’t even been afraid of having to relive that. I do get all choked up and sobby when poor Bambi’s mother dies, but that’s the extent of it.

I remember when my own children started to show in interest in watching Bambi I tried to steer them over to Toy Story, and other children’s movies that didn’t have that element of death in it until I felt they were old enough to already have that concept in their heads. I didn’t want them to be hit with that sledgehammer like I’d been.

Of course that being said, I also have to say that my most favorite character in all of animation history comes from the movie Bambi.
Now everyone I know always thinks that Thumper is the best character in that movie (other than Bambi that is) but not me. I love Flower. I think he’s just the best, most sweetest fellow in the world.
And the fact that he’s this stinky little skunk that in reality almost everyone would shun, and yet he’s the most pleasant, agreeable little guy. Don’t judge a book by it’s cover is the adage that best fits my favorite little black and white friend.
I especially love how Bambi names Flower. Thumper shows Bambi a flower and tells him it’s a flower. Then Bambi looks at the little skunk and says “Flower.” and Thumper starts to laugh and tell Bambi he’s wrong, but the little skunk smiles and says “That’s alright, he can call me Flower if he wants to!” So sweet.

Of course I’d have to say that my most favorite animated movie of all time is the Toy Story series. Firstly because it’s the first major length computer generated animation movie and started an entirely new genre of movie and second because the story is something that most kids dream about. Their toys coming to life while they are asleep or out of the room. It’s purely innocent in the plot development. Something that most kids deal with, especially if they are the oldest sibling in the family. They have to deal with jealousy and of course the feeling of being replaced. But of course they soon learn that there is room in their parents (or Andy’s) heart for the two of them, and of course they also learn that they have to stick together.
Just like Buzz and Woody. It’s marvelous.
About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

