But Tell Me, Seriously Would You?

I seem to have been transformed into this neurotic little person who is seeking some sort of positive feedback from folks in my life lately.
Am I really so needy and neurotic that I need someone to look into my eyes and tell me that I do matter, that the things that I do are good and that although I may struggle, the struggle is worthwhile and that at the end of it all, it will be worth it.

What has brought this on suddenly? At work yesterday I found myself saying to my fellow co-workers “But seriously, if I did [enter random action here] would you like/read/approve/help/be interested in it?” I found myself saying that sentence so many times that eventually as I was saying it out loud, inside of my own head I was screaming at myself to just ‘Shut the Hell Up Already, Needy Little Girl’.

Once, when I was younger I was a needy little girl, most of my actions were geared towards gaining praise from others that I respected. Almost every moment in my life was spent in searching for someone’s approval and I became worn out from trying and broken down by never achieving it.
So eventually I gave up the ghost and stopped trying, no I didn’t just stop trying I went in the opposite direction. I went out of my way to gain disapproving glances, to earn the scorn, the lectures and the sermons about being a disappointment, about not being a productive member of society and my favorite one, how I will never amount to anything.
Well some of what was predicted came true and some didn’t. But the thing is that I grew out of that bitter, self hating person and I thought that I moved past seeking approval or disapproval. I thought that I was living for myself and my family, for my husband and my children and that the rest of the world can go and hang.

But then yesterday I saw myself reliving the past and trying to get folks to look at me with that spark that says ‘Yes, what you do matters’ and a shudder ran through me as I recognized the pattern forming in my life.

I can’t go back to being that person, I don’t want to transform into the bitter girl again when folks don’t pat me on the head and tell me ‘Good Job’.

I need to nip it in the bud, nip, nip, nip it!

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

