Come Back Wednesday for a Nice Dose of Pain and Terror

Yesterday I went to the dentist, I found someone to cover my shift last night at work and I headed off all nervous and sweaty to the dentist office to get my tooth taken care of.

I have two broken wisdom teeth on the left side of my mouth and the top one is giving me lots and lots of pain lately.
So I went into the office with the hopes that as of last night I’d no longer have to worry about all the joys of living with broken teeth.  Sadly it wasn’t to be.
After the X-Rays were taken the dentist became concerned that there might be some problems extracting the tooth and she decided to wait until Wednesday to remove that blighter.  So here I sit still having wonderful, fun-loving pain and having to head back into the office to get a tooth pulled.  I will have to get to sit and stew about my fears and the pain and worry about just how I’m going to ensure I’ll actually go to the dentist that day because when the fear grips you, you tend to make the most insane, stupid decisions ever and mine happen to veer towards getting the hell away from the dentist and as far from that office as possible.  Of course that means I’ll be living with the pain and that’s no solution either.
Fear, it’s not rational and my emotional reaction to it is hard to explain.
So the tooth is still here, I’m still sitting here with the pain and I’ve got the panic attack like symptoms to show that I’m a great big ol‘ wuss.
Fun Times
About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in health. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Come Back Wednesday for a Nice Dose of Pain and Terror

  1. Volly says:

    >Obviously I'm not a DDS and haven't seen your X-rays, but I am the former spouse of someone who got all 4 wisdom teeth extracted in one fell swoop. This was not dentistry. It was oral surgery. Surgery, as in, full general anesthesia, followed by a trip home in which I basically carried him to the car (me=150lbs, him=200+ lbs — fun!), and then he stayed in bed for about 24 hours, dosed with painkillers. I think that's what you ought to be aiming for, IMHO. Ask your dentist about this option. I do not think this is a "take the afternoon off" kind of a thing.At any rate, best good thoughts to you! May you be pain-free soon.

Share Your Thoughts

