Getting Ready to See the Dentist

I’m heading into the dentist office this afternoon to have my tooth extracted. Yipee (that’s dripping with sarcasm there, just so you know!)

Volly left a comment on my last entry about perhaps seeing a dental surgeon instead, and I’d like to say thanks for trying to help but I don’t need a surgeon. My roots aren’t deep in my jaw so it doesn’t take a lot to pull my wisdom teeth, I know because I’ve had it done twice before. One time it was a snap, the second time I’d let it get infected and there wasn’t much of a tooth to actually pull so the surgeon had to dig the root out. That wasn’t a fun one. But the first one was a breeze, I didn’t even know the dentist had actually pulled my tooth out.
And there wasn’t a lot of problem with pain after, don’t get me wrong there was pain but it wasn’t anything a few Tylenol or Advil couldn’t handle.

I don’t like the idea of using anesthesia for a simple extraction, there are risks when you use anesthesia and I prefer to keep it simple if you can.
Also, as the parent of a disabled child who is 100% dependent on me for his day to day care, meaning his feeding, diapering, positioning when he sits, carrying him from room to room, bathing, stretching and therapy, I just can’t afford to be whacked out on pain killers for any period of time at all. Sure his Dad can do some of the stuff, but I have a very stubborn 9 year old on my hands and he refuses to allow his Dad to do a majority of the stuff that needs to be done.
That’s a major reason why I’ve been living with infrequent pain from gall stones instead of having my gall bladder removed, and I’ve had that problem since 2000.

But thanks for trying to help, I appreciate it.

Also, I’m not taking an afternoon off from work. I wasn’t scheduled to work today. The job I have doesn’t give us a set schedule, it’s not a five day a week, 9-5 type of job. Our department is open 7 days a week from 10-7 and you can be scheduled to work anytime on any day.

Also, to my pal Valerie, please forgive my verbal diarrhea yesterday. OMG I was so tired and as I kept babbling on and on and on I kept telling myself to shut up but for some reason the message just didn’t’ make it out of my brain to my mouth, so it kept jabbering away.
I’m so sorry. I promise that from now on if I’m tired like that and I come to work with you, I’ll duct tape my mouth shut or something.
Sorry. Sorry. Sorry.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in health. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting Ready to See the Dentist

  1. Gamer says:

    >Can I be around when you do that? I'd like to take photos! Duct Tape and all! 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

