Squinty McPirate

I didn’t write about this, and I’m sure that you’ll find that is unusual because things that are very important in my life are usually written about as soon as possible. But this time it was such a scary thing for me, so I just didn’t want to write about it until I started to feel comfortable and that everything was going to be ok.

See on Tuesday my Husband came to work and surprised me, I was shocked because I was working a very short shift and was done by 1:30, so I never thought he’d be done in time to pick me up since Tuesdays are his longer days.

So I was very surprised when I saw him standing outside the Co-Worker entrance by the restaurant, it wasn’t even 1:00 yet. So I asked him why he was done so early and he smiled sheepishly and said that he’d been hurt.
‘How?’
‘I was picking up a bin at an apartment and a sheet of plate glass came falling out, hit the side view mirror and shattered, and a piece went right into my eye.’
There was a pause in the conversation at this point while I freaked out a bit.
‘There was a piece stuck in my eye and I had to pull it out.’
It was at this point that I began to dance the funky chicken and make these sort of retching noises as I envisioned someone having to pull a long piece of glass the size of a thumbnail, which is how big he said the glass was, out of their eye.
‘I went to the hospital and they said that my cornea is cut, everything looks fuzzy and there is a sort of line right through my vision.’

I finished the half an hour in my shift while the Hubby ate a snack at the restaurant and then we went home together, and he’s been at home recovering ever since. The line in his vision is now gone, and the fuzziness seem to be mostly gone, except when he tries to concentrate for long periods of time.
The only thing that seems to be a problem right now is extreme light sensitivity, whenever he tries to look outside he gets a sharp, stabbing pain in his eye which causes an almost instant headache.
And he was going to try to go back to work today! I told him no, I’d be too afraid that he’d be unsafe and either be in an accident or cause one. So he’s home again today, hopefully his eye will heal up over the weekend and he’ll be back at work on Monday.

So that’s what has been happening in my life right now, and I just haven’t felt like writing about it until now.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in health. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

