Crossing the Line

When someone who doesn’t know me that well, someone who has never met my children, someone who has not taken the time to even find out about Dev’s disability and what realistic expectations would be for his abilities in the future, turns to me and says to me that maybe the reason that my son isn’t meeting his potential is because of my attitude, well it just pisses me right off.

This person and I were engaged in a conversation about the temperature and when I said that I’d had the heat on for the past few nights because Dev has no body fat and won’t keep a blanket on him, her response was that perhaps something can be done by the doctors to correct that. So I started to explain to her that it’s the nature of his disability and she wouldn’t listen, she accused me of having no hope for his future and that was why he wasn’t able to walk, talk or even put weight on.

Of course I lost it and almost burst into tears as I told her in a very upset and raised voice that she doesn’t know anything about myself, my son or his disability so she just better stop right there. I told her that she just better shut the hell up because she’s crossed the line and I’m so done talking to her.

I didn’t talk to her again for the rest of the day unless I had to, we work in the same department and I’m thinking of going to my manager and telling her that I do not in any circumstances want to work with that bitch again. I was going to say something to her today about it but I was afraid that I was still to emotional about it and didn’t want to get either worked up and angry in front of my manager, because I have a temper and sometimes if I’m venting I say things that I don’t mean but they can be inappropriate. Or I was I afraid that I might start to actually cry, something that I don’t want to do in front of my manager.

I think I am going to talk to my manager tomorrow, because I didn’t actually yell with kids in the department at work but I did raise my voice pretty loud. If she says something else about Dev I think I’ll lose it completely and I just don’t want to get fired because of her.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crossing the Line

  1. Kat says:

    >For those who are interested in what was said…I said that he probably will not ever walk, he may never talk and he'll most likely never be able to take care of himself. She said that I shouldn't say that because it's always better to have hope and I said yes, but it's also important to have realistic expectations for him and before I could say that it's my hope that he will learn to use adaptive devices to assist him with these things she told me that it's mostly my fault that he can't do these things and it's my fault that his future is bleak.Bitch!

Share Your Thoughts

