Of Tat’s and Holes

I want a tattoo. I’ve wanted a tattoo since I was 18, old enough to get one without parental consent. So why haven’t I gotten one? Well I decided way back then that I didn’t want to get something that had no meaning. I didn’t want to get a tattoo just for the sake of getting a tattoo. I guess I figured that if it had meaning behind the artwork that I’d be less likely to regret getting ink stabbed into my flesh in a pretty pattern.

So a few years back I finally decided what I wanted to get tattooed onto my back, actually to be more precise onto my left shoulder blade (a painful spot I’m told).
It’s Felix the cat, wearing boxing gloves and sporting a swollen shut eye.
The meaning behind this tattoo…
A Black Cat for the luck in my life, because sometimes it feels like if I had no bad luck I’d have no luck at all.
The boxing gloves are to symbolize the fights that I’ve to struggle through just so that I can feel normal, so that I can live my life and not have to answer to anyone or anybody.
The swollen eye is to symbolize the many times that I’ve been beaten down by life, but the fact that Felix is still standing is to show that while I may have been beaten down, I’ve always gotten back up and I always will until I’m dead! I’ll never stop fighting the good fight!

But as of this past weekend there is more. A friend got her lip pierced on Friday night and I thought to myself why not get my eyebrow pierced? I’ve always wanted my eyebrow pierced, so now I’m trying to figure out why not? And so far I can’t come up with an answer that would convince me not to get it done.
I’m 37 years old and the only two arguments that I can come up with that makes me think that perhaps I shouldn’t get it done is that I’m too old, that I’d look sort of like a pathetic old woman who’s trying to stay young looking and that’s not why I’m doing it.

The second argument is that I’m only wanting to do this because it’ll flip my Mom out, and perhaps because it’s bucking an establishment that not only did I not fit into, but one that never wanted to welcome me into it’s fold in the first place.
If I’m not welcome in the land of sunshine and happiness then why should I try my damnedest to fit into what they dictate as normal. I’m not normal, I haven’t been normal since I can remember. I’ve never been one to play nice and get along so why not just stop trying?

Of course I’m thinking I’ll use the tattoo and piercing as part of a reward package, lose the weight and you can mutilate your body. Sounds like a deal to me.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in on my mind. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

