Big Changes Underway

Hello my friends, I have a big announcement to make. The Hubby and I have been thinking this over for a few years now and as of yesterday we’ve decided to make it happen.
We’re moving. This is a big move. I’m not talking about a move from one neighbourhood to another, or even just one city to another. This move is going to be from one province to another.

Yup, it’s been decided. We’re moving from Ontario to British Columbia. We’re not sure how this is going to happen, will Hubby go ahead of us to look for work and a house? Will I move in with my Mom for a few months until Hubby gets set up, and if so I’ve got to start working a whole lot of hours to cover the bills once Hubby is gone.
Will Hubby fly out to look for work? He’d have to rent a car then, or will he drive out and then we’ll fly out to meet up with him? Can Dev fly?

So many questions and I haven’t the foggiest idea of how to go about it. Very big, very overwhelming.

But I think that this needs to happen. Devlin becomes a shut in around the end of October. Halloween is last big hurrah outside. And a lot of times that’s really hard on him. He has no body fat and so he can’t take being out in the cold. In the summer, once the super heat and humidity kick in, he stops eating properly and ends up losing quite a bit of weight.
So we’re thinking that if we move out there, Devlin wont get stuck inside due to the milder winters and their summers aren’t as stifling so he may not lose his appetite as badly out there.
Plus I have my almost 93 year old grandmother out there, who has one of her daughters and a granddaughter out there, but they don’t have cars to help her get about, and she could always use a couple of extra hands.
Plus my aunt as never seen her great nieces and nephews, and my cousin has never met Dev and she hasn’t seen the other two for ten years.
But the family thing isn’t why.

We spent the greater part of yesterday checking out housing listings to see the cost of living, Hubby looked at the online want ads for the area and it seems he could make a relatively similar living, if not better out there. My company I work for has two stores out there, one of them unionized so I might be able to transfer or at least apply.

It’s a big move and so far I haven’t really told anyone, well except the family out there, and that was just a tentative feeling the waters to see if they’d be up for it. Since I’d most likely have to rely on them for moral support once I’m out there.

I don’t have any really good friends out here anymore, I’d miss my Mom and brother but sometimes I think my Mom and I’d do better at a long distance relationship. She’s overly domineering when it comes to the kids and she wants them to be as obsessed with her as she is with them.
I’m not kidding. If they don’t call to beg her to come over for two weekends in a row she’s calling me up asking me if they still like her, or if they are mad at her or if I’m mad at her and preventing them from coming over.
No Mom, they are kids hanging with their friends.

And I might add that these friends that the kids are hanging with are either moving at the end of the school year, going to different schools as Sean next year, or the kind of friends that my kids play with when Mom and Dad force them to get the heck out of the house and hang with their friends. They don’t call on their own.

I’m thinking that if we move, it will be hard on the kids but right now a majority of their socializing is done online on Facebook, so really what will be the difference?
And there are the beaches, the biking trails, the lakes and the skiing (my family owns a house up at Whistler so they could go up there and stay whenever the skiing, snowboarding bug hit them).

I think it would be better. And I think that if they miss their friends back here they can always ask them to come visit. I know when I was getting to this age I was working and saving for my own travels, they can do the same. Plus my kids will be coming back to visit their grandmother.
I just don’t want to send them out west to visit with folks that they really don’t know, although they are biologically related.
I don’t know if I’m making sense, but this is something I’ve been thinking about and mulling over all the facts and I think it would be a good thing for my family.

Am I naive? Perhaps.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in family, home. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Big Changes Underway

  1. mzbee says:

    >GOOD LUCK on your move. BC is absolutely beautiful. Change is good.

Share Your Thoughts

