Of Trees and Puke

So I have been sick to my stomach for the past few days, I’ve been sitting at the toilet bowl and making mental notes to myself that perhaps it’s time for a major sanitation to happen.  I’ve been leaving the cleaning of the toilet up to my 12 and 14 year old kids and I’m starting to think that perhaps I should have been coming in at least once a week and doing a major scrub on that thing.  Of course you would never notice the spots under the rim that they’ve been missing unless of course you were putting your head into the toilet, and I don’t think that’s something folks do when they come to visit at my house.

So today I woke up and I thought to myself that perhaps I’m feeling a smidgen better, which was a good thing because this was the last chance we were going to get to go and fetch a Christmas tree.  See LB hates going to get the tree so we leave him with my Mom, and as of tomorrow my Mom will be on the other side of the country, visiting with her family in British Columbia.
So after sitting around for most of the morning, ensuring that the flip flops my tummy had been making for the past 2 days were a thing of the past, I finally packed up and we headed out.
We got a tree, it didn’t take long which was a good thing because my head was spinning and all I really wanted to do was lie down and die in a ditch at the edge of the field.
Dot made a snowman while her Dad cut down the tree, and EB wanted to help her so he went looking for something to use as the eyes.
He returned with a very suspicious looking rock and I said to him, ‘Let me see that rock’ and he held it up in front of my eyes and I began to laugh at the rock frozen dog turd he had resting gently in the palm of his hand.  He was bewildered for a few moments and then when I explained what he was holding he flung it down and began to rub his hand in the snow.  ha ha
We got the tree, loaded it on to the top of the car and headed for home, sadly it wasn’t fast enough.
Dot started to feel sick and just as we were driving into our own neck of the woods she began to cry out that she was going to throw up and she needed us to pull over.  There was no where to do so and so she proceeded to puke all over herself, about 5 times.
It was terrible, and of course my overly sensitive tummy started to threaten to join in on the festivity of blowing  chunks in the car, it would not have been good.   I sat there, holding my shirt up over my face, barely breathing and when I did it was through my mouth to avoid inhaling any fumes and adding to my tummy’s destructive nature.
Even now, writing about it make me think I may have to make a mad dash for the toilet bowl yet again.
When we got home Dot soaked in a bath, I threw her clothes into the wash and Hubby cleaned out the car because there was no way in the pit of Hades that I’d be able to do it.
And that was our Christmas Tree Extravaganza of 2008.  Aren’t you jealous that you weren’t with us?
About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

