The Scrooge and Grinch Rolled Up Into One

Yesterday we went to the One of a Kind Craft show and I came across something that would make the perfect gift for my mother, a crockenol board.  I tried to find a site that explains what that is, but no luck.  Sorry.

But it’s a hand crafted, solid wood board with pegs placed around a centre little hole or divot.  The goal of the game is to get the checker sized slugs into the divot to score points.  The other players try to shoot your slug off the board in the same style as curling, while at the same time trying to still either get their slug into the hole or as close as possible.
As kids we used to spend hours playing that game and when the board finally died my Mom went on a hunt for years trying to find a new board but they all have bolts placed in the middle of the board that are supposed to be flat but aren’t, and they affect the shot if the slug goes over them.  So she hasn’t been happy with her boards and hasn’t‘ played for as long as my kids have been on the face of this planet.
So when I saw a beautifully handcrafted, solid wood board that had no bolts holding anything together, well I just had to buy it.
I didn’t think I spent that much money at the show, but it turns out that after I bought various things for the kids and my Mom’s board it came close to costing around $800.  That’s more than I thought it cost.
Fast forward to today, everything is going well and we’re all in a good mood because the Hubby has managed to do some work on my laptop and fixed a few problems we’d been having with it.
He then turns and tells me that Sean wants an I-Pod Touch for Christmas, then he tells me that’s what he wants as well.  I gave a little laugh and said ‘seriously?’ and Hubby got into a mini snit and he snapped ‘Yes’ at me.
Then I said to him, ‘can we afford two right now?’ because I have no clue how the finances are after yesterday and we basically have to pay cash for most gifts right now.  Hubby jumps into major pissy mode and starts doing his best to start a fight with me.  So now I’ve walked away, I’m not talking to him and it’s making him get even more moody, but I don’t care.
I have dyscalculia and I can’t keep numbers in my head at all, and Hubby knows this, but that’s now he takes my simple, honest question.
Instead he starts going on about how I’m going to spend hundreds of dollars on my kids (which is alright with him) but then he also starts going on about how I’m going to spend about $500 on my brothers, sister-in-law, nephew, mother, friends of the family and everyone but him, keep in mind the $500 is each.
He’s being unfair and he’s doing his best to ruin my Christmas now.  He starts to make cruel statements about my contribution to the family, since I’m not working anymore right now.  He doesn’t‘ like the amount of housework I’ve done, he doesn’t think I do much for anyone and he is making me really hate him.
He does this every year and I’m so tired of it, Christmas used to be my most favorite time of the year and now all I can think is how much I want it to be over with.
I have to go, I’m working myself up again and I don’t want to cry, I don’t‘ want to get so mad that I have to start letting him know how mad I am.  I don’t want anything from him anymore.
I know he’s doing this to me today because I’m getting together with some friends from work tonight and he’s trying to make it so I say ‘Fuck it’ and stay home.  But this get together was my idea so you know as hell that I’m not going to miss it!
He wont win.
About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Scrooge and Grinch Rolled Up Into One

  1. mzbee says:

    >((((hugs)))) sorry about your husband being so grumpy about spending money. We're going to be careful this year, we're both employed, but you never know when that might change in this economy. We made the rule this year for Christmas that NONE of the presents can be store bought ones. Everyone has to MAKE their presents for each other. (Dave, me, Tom, Cristie, Kelly & Brendan) There's no one on my side of the family to buy for. We already did the gift exchange with my in laws. We like a low key and simple Christmas. My husband always makes some real nice meals for all of us when we get together.

Share Your Thoughts

