Lesson Learned

When you have decided to go out and purchase a super cool, amazing gift for your husband and you want to hide it and keep it a secret until Christmas day, perhaps you should really make sure you know how big this thing is that you’ve ordered and also figured out where you want to actually hide it before the damn thing gets delivered.

I decided this year that I wanted to make up for all the years when we had no money and Hubby got the short end of the stick.  So I went online and ordered his Christmas gift this year, an LCD, flat screen, 42 inch TV.
I had no clue just how big that sucker was until the delivery guys wheeled that puppy in yesterday morning.  No wonder Purolator wouldn’t deliver until they’d booked a delivery appointment with me.
This sucker is so big that I really had no place to hide it, and even worse the wall unit that housed our current TV was too small to hold this sucker.  I know, because I took measurements, something that I’m sure I should have done prior to ordering.  Doh!
About half an hour after I moved the gigantic box to the back room, and when I say gigantic I mean it.  This box is a meter and a half tall, and a meter wide.  When I did a conversion for the size of the box I got 4.92159 feet tall and 1.28083 feet wide.  There just wasn’t any place that I could hide something of that size.  Which means when Hubby got home and finally noticed the box, about half an hour later, which made me think of my pal Pischina and the whole episode of her daughter with the pool and it made me wonder how she’d been able to hold out so long and not just shake her screaming ‘Don’t you see it?  How can you not see it?’ because that’s what I wanted to do to Hubby.
So once Hubby sees the enormous box that has invaded and conquered the dining room he opens it and realizes the same thing as me, this tv is not going to fit in our wall unit.  So we jump into the car and head out to buy a new stand to sit it on, which we got and set up before the LB even got home from school.
We hooked up everything and of course watched it and Hubby is the happiest I’ve seen him in a very long time.  He’s like a little kid and I think he’s just the cutest.
Of course this means that I now have to go and buy him something else to put under the tree because when he realized that there wasn’t going to be a surprise gift from me on Christmas day he did get a little look in his eye and I realized that I can’t do that to him.  Besides, wont he be shocked to see that I’ve managed to stash something under the tree for him as well.  heh heh.
I was going to post a pic of the old wall unit and the new TV with the stand, but in all the shuffling and moving stuff around, Hubby moved the cable for the new camera that he got me as an early gift and I can’t upload the pics onto the computer.
This is is the most technical Christmas ever, Ceilidh’s getting her own digital camera, Sean’s getting I Pod Touch, there is a new photo printer for the family, to go along with the laser color printer that was another early gift to the family because we needed it for Dev’s communication board.
I can’t wait for Christmas day.
About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lesson Learned

  1. Pischina says:

    >I'm so happy for you all!!!And yeah, it was terribly difficult to not just tell my girl about the pool, my son and I just spent that week laughing every time she walked into the room.I'm glad you're going to have a Merry Christmas!!

Share Your Thoughts

