Phone Calls, Leaks and Snow.

I’m back, did you miss me?  Did you even realize that I was gone, most likely not.

My phone and internet was gone for a few days but that problem has been rectified and I have to admit that while I missed my internet and my portal for venting or raging about my problems, or sharing the happenings in my life with my pals, I did not miss the constant ringing of my phone from folks who are trying to sell me crap.
Do not, I repeat, DO NOT sign up for the ‘do not call list’, what a mistake that was.  Large business owners from Canada are buying the lists and then moving their operation to the States or Mexico where the lists have no baring, which means that they can call you ’till the cows come home and there’s nothing that can be done about it.
It seems like a stupid option to me, call folks who don’t want to be called, have taken steps to not get called.  Yup, sure sounds like a good way to drum up business.
I’m thinking of changing my number and making it unlisted.  It was fun to not have the phone ringing every five minutes, from folks who I don’t give a damn about.
I mean honestly, I don’t want to hear about the dangers of ‘driving without a warranty’ one more time!  That one calls the house about 3 times a day, and there’s nothing that can be done because they are from Mexico, and it’s a recorded message.  Grrr!
Anyways, that’s not what I sat down to write about, I just got side tracked.  Ooops!
What I wanted to write about was this.


That my friends is the spot in my house where the water came in, through the ceiling.  I could hear this sort of popping noise and I couldn’t figure out what it was, until I walked over to the computers and saw a great puddle at the bottom of the stairs, and witnessed the rapid fire drip that was sloshing away in the puddle and causing the popping noise.
I thought at first that a pipe was leaking in my ceiling, my upstairs neighbour insisted that it wasn’t coming from his place, even though that’s the place where his laundry room/hot water heater is located.  He swore that there was no water on his floor, none in his closet under the laundry room, etc, etc.
That is the bucket that I used to catch all the water that was coming from the ceiling.  At first it came as a simple drip, you could count to three between them.  But it soon became so much more.  The entire ceiling that is brown had water pouring out of it.  Brown, gross water.  Ewww.   There was water pouring down my walls, my storage room had water flowing into it.  There was water under the floor tiles, which are now lifting up by the way.
The plumber went upstairs and guess what, it was the guys hot water heater.  If he’d only turned off his hot water heater like we asked him to, then perhaps some of the mess could have been avoided.  As it is, I have floor tiles lifting up, parts of my plaster ceiling have come down and I’m worried that mold will be settling in.
So now I need a new floor, my ceiling needs to be repaired.  Luckilly I was home and not at work and was able to move all the computers and everything that would have been ruined by the water.
Sadly I had to not go in to work because I needed to be here to deal with all of this, and then clean up after it.  Not fun!

That was the scene from my front door just before Christmas, it was a big storm and Dev had to stay home from school on the last day before Christmas holidays because of it.

And that is the view from my front door as of 9:30 this morning.

Witness the snow bank that I have to shovel through so that Dev can get on the lift for his bus that takes him to school each day.   Notice how the bank gets taller as it gets to in front of my house, and that’s after I asked the city to help keep that area clear, which they aren’t of course.  I had to flag down one of their mini plows that keep the sidewalk clear and ask him to clear the spot for me, otherwise it wouldn’t have been done at all.
Hopefully now the plows will continue to keep that area clear, we’ll see.
About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in complaints. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Phone Calls, Leaks and Snow.

  1. Volly says:

    >Dumb@$$ neighbor! And there's nothing worse than water damage … though you're right, it could have happened when you were all away on vacation or something. Glad you got the delicate stuff out of harm's way, and hope the repair process isn't too much of a hassle.

Share Your Thoughts

