Ok, So I’m Not the Brightest Bulb in the Box

Some of you may have already heard about my little break from sanity yesterday in regards to Sean’s joining my sister in law, brother and nephew on their outing to enjoy some Monster trucking fun.  For those of you not familiar, let me give you some background info.

Saturday, my nephew calls and invites Sean to go with them to watch the Monster Truck Jam that was happening in our fair city this weekend. SeanB had been trying to figure out a way to get me and Hubby to get him tickets to this event all week, but it was Hubby’s birthday and we decided to keep the boy home and force him to celebrate his father’s 39th birthday with the family.
But when my sister in law offered their extra ticket to the boy, well he just became all bubbly and begging to go with them.  I had already told my sister in law that he couldn’t go because of Hubby’s birthday, but after I was already off the phone with her the Hubby changed his mind and gave permission for the boy to skip the birthday celebrations.  ‘How can I make him miss this,  just for my birthday?’ the Hubby shrugged his shoulders as he looked at me.
So I called my Mom and told her that Sean could go and she told me that she’d call my bro and sis in law and tell them the change in plans.  She then hung up and called me back in a few minutes, telling me that it was all set and that he would be going with them come the next day.
Ok, then later on I call my sis in law and she informs me that my Mom never called her and they had in fact given the extra ticket to a boy named Riley.  Of course I become super upset with my Mom, mostly because she never does stuff like that and secondly because I can’t for the life of me figure out why she’d do that.
I got to bed, and manage to fall asleep only to wake up a couple of hours later and I’m suddenly in a rage about this whole thing.  I keep thinking about Sean and how heart broken he’s going to be. I’m unable to fall back asleep for hours, because it makes me sick to think about how upset he is going to be about all of this.
Somehow I manage to fall back to sleep, and when I get up I start to immediately get the kids to help me make the Hubby’s birthday breakfast and while I’m up to my elbows in frying bacon, chopping peppers and scrambling eggs the phone rings.  It’s my sis in law telling me the plan for getting Sean to meet up with them so they can head down town to the monster truck and slowly it begins to dawn on me that all that anger and heart ache I’d been going through in the middle of the night had been such a waste because it had all been a dream.
That’s right, everything after I’d called my Mom and told her the change in plans had been a dream, a really vivid, life like dream, and I hadn’t been able to tell the difference between the dream and reality.
Of course I felt like such an idiot for being so mad at my Mom and later on when she came over yesterday to share in the Hubby’s birthday dinner I told her what had happened and apologized to her for getting so upset, and like I said the thing that was the worst for me was that she never does stuff like this so it was just really frustrating to me.  I should have known better.
About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

