Hope at the End of the Tunnel

So Obama is now the president, and everyone has such high expectations for him, I only hope he can live up to them.  I doubt that he can though, just because you can’t please all the people all of the time, but still I hope that his fall of the pedestal that the media have put him on isn’t too hard or too far.

Meanwhile in my little section of the world I am slowly freezing to death.  The temperature is around -15 but it feels more like-22 and I’m not liking this at all.  There is snow everywhere and while the white crystals that either drift lazily from the sky or are blasted at us in a powerful, frigid blast of arctic wind, may be beautiful they are neither fun to shovel or enjoyable to fall in fast first.  I know this because I fell the other day after loading LB onto the school bus, my leg sunk into the snowbank past my knee and I lost my balance and crashed face first into the crunchy, exhaust blackened snowdrift.  Yuck!
I’m so tired of winter and when I heard on the TV yesterday that it was only 2 months until the official start of spring, well my pulse actually quickened a bit.  Eight weeks until the warmth starts to come back, already I’m noticing that the sun is setting later than it did just before Christmas.  Of course while the official first day of spring may be March 20th, but here in the frozen north land we don’t really get to enjoy the first warm breezes of spring until late April, Early May.  As a matter of fact March is usually a bad month for us, in like a lion and out like a lamb and all that jazz.  Every year we get a nice little warm period in March and everyone rejoices that spring is here and the *blam* we get hit with a nasty storm that makes us all want to hide under the blankets and forget that we even have the ability to leave the house until the storm passes and then we all start to grumble, complaining as we ask the question ‘Where did spring go?’
But I am gladdened by the fact that that there is a light at the end of the tunnel, and that does put a tiny smile back on my face, even when I’m shoveling snow and trying not to collapse in snowbanks that are deep enough to hide  my frozen dead body if I should ever keel over from the effort it takes to clear away LB’s path for his bus.
C’mon Spring, I’m waiting!
About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hope at the End of the Tunnel

  1. boxx says:

    >It was 70 degrees here yesterday in sunny California. I played tennis for an hour with my husband and then I went swimming in the outdoor lap pool. Crazy weather for winter! Hope some of our beautiful weather makes it's way north to you. ~boXx

  2. Kat says:

    >Thanks Boxx for rubbing it in. I would kill someone for a day where I could play tennis outside (not that I'm good at it) or even swim in an outdoor pool. Grumble, grumble, grumble!

Share Your Thoughts

