Of Colds, Cleaning and Damaged Sliding Doors

In the past 24 hours I’ve worked my tail off to clean up my house, come down with a nasty cold (thanks Sean) and my back door has not only frozen shut, the ice did something to warp the door and now the frame has popped open.

Did my family appreciate the maximum clean that I did so that I wouldn’t have to do any of that work over the weekend? Nope, as a matter of fact they all came home, grunted their hello’s at me and proceeded to just drop their stuff wherever they pleased, and then they actually had the nerve to give me attitude when I got upset with them. I wish I could say that this behaviour was limited to my surly offspring but it wasn’t, the Hubby was grumbling along with the rest of them.
Sean was all this week with a bad cold, he was feverish, pale and he was achey all over. Since this morning I have come down with these same symptoms and I have to tell you that I’m not happy that the one time he listened to me about sharing with others is the one time I wanted him to be a greedy little cuss and keep his virus and bacteria to himself.
Since I’ve moved in here my back door has done nothing but give me problems, it’s leaked so much that the floor tiles lifted up and then popped up off the floor and I’m now left with a large barren concrete space where there should be wooden flooring.
The maintenance man and the door man have been caulking the crap out of the door frame in an attempt to stop the leakage but I’m afraid all they did was manage to stop the frame from draining and with this nasty cold weather we’ve been having the water that was trapped in the track froze and managed to not only pop the door from the track but it also managed to break the door apart so that the glass has shifted and I now have a big open space.
I went to the office to let them know and the manager told me that they’d let the maintenance guy know as soon as he got back from his 11:30 dental check up and cleaning.
As of 10:30 tonight the maintenance man has not been here so I’m assuming that either the message wasn’t passed along or he’s still at the dentist getting some heavy duty, super clean job done to some super nasty assed teeth. Now in all honesty his teeth never looked that bad, so I’m thinking that the message was never passed along. What do you all think?
About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in complaints, health, home, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Of Colds, Cleaning and Damaged Sliding Doors

  1. Kat says:

    >The maintenance man lives in the building, he gets his apartment for free, plus a salary and benefits. He also only works 9-5, and doesn't like to be bothered after hours.I have enough stuff to write about that maintenance man that would fill up an entire entry, the board wants to replace him with a super because he's not exactly efficient. He loses work orders and he's actually left my house and a cracked toilet bowl that was leaking all over and needed to be replace, so he could change a light bulb in another apartment. I almost had no toilet for an entire weekend because he kept wandering off for crap like that, and when 5:00 came around he tried to tell me he was off the clock. ha

Share Your Thoughts

