Boss is a Bitch

Devlin was home all this week because of his hospital stay, which you can read about here, in case you missed it.

So needless to say I had to call in sick on the two days that I was scheduled to work this week (Wednesday and Friday) and when I called in on Friday my boss actually gave me shit.
Here I am dealing with a kid that’s struggling to breath and she actually tells me that if my life is too hectic right now than perhaps I should just resign.
Bitch.
This has pissed me off.
See the thing is that I’ve been giving shifts away since October, when we were closed down for repairs (management likes to call is renovations, but all they did was remove the mold encrusted walls and floor of the bathroom and surrounding area).  I told my boss what I was doing, and she never flinched or said a thing to me.
I was giving the shifts away because every one’s hours are cut back and some folks were only getting 8 hours a week and these people had to use that money as their families single source of income.  So how can I take those hours and not feel like a shit when I’ve got a husband who pays the bills?
I told my boss this.  Then we reopened and still our hours were shit.  Management were only scheduling me for about 8 hours a week and I wasn’t upset because we’re on limited admissions and my limited hours meant that others were getting their hours.  But still if folks asked me for a shift because they needed the cash I’d gladly give it up.
So when I called yesterday my boss took this opportunity to tell me off for this, even though I’d always been upfront with her about what I was doing.  And she told me that she wasn’t complaining about this week, but perhaps I should quit.
What?  Thanks for your sensitivity.  She tells me that when I come back to work that she and I have to do a sit down and discuss this, and perhaps write me up.  Bitch.
I don’t think so.  I’ll call in the customer service manager and HR and refuse to sign the write up based on the fact that she never once told me that this was unacceptable, and I’ll also let them all know that I don’t appreciate the fact that my boss waits until my son is gasping for breath and on an hourly watch for any visible signs of difficulty breathing (skin sunken in around the ribs, a large indentation in the middle of his rib cage, discoloration around his eyes, lips or on his nails, etc.) since he doesn’t actually cough or wheeze like others do.
I don’t appreciate that she never even asked me how he’s doing when I called to say that I couldn’t come in, she just started to tell me that I was in shit.  This makes me not really want to work under that woman anymore, but I won’t let her beat me.  I like the actual people that I work with and they’ve been awesome through all of this, calling me for updates and what not.  I don’t think I’ll quit, especially since I think the only reason she wants me to quit is so she can save more money, not so she can have coverage of those shifts.  I mean I’m only scheduled for 8 hours a week, that’s easy to cover with the folks there.
I’m also going to start asking for more hours, I mean if I’ve got to be there I want more than a couple of 4 hour shifts a week.  Screw her!
About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Boss is a Bitch

  1. mzbee says:

    >That really sucks about the job situation. I think we are all in the wrong jobs. There needs to be a HUGE musical chairs and everyone shifts jobs. Is EB feeling better now? It's so hard to have a child ill. (((hugs))) Self first. Family second. Job maybe 3 or 4.

  2. mzbee says:

    >Hi Kat! Just stopping by to wish you a Happy Easter to filled with peace, love, HEALTH, and happiness. Will you be dyeing eggs? This will be Clementine's FIRST Easter. How fun! Thanks for all your kind notes. I hope all is well. ~BoXx

Share Your Thoughts

