Thar She Blows

My lovely Siberian Hair-Beast Husky has started her annual rapid loss of fur that is normally called shedding, although in a Husky it’s calling Blowing, I think because the hair blows everywhere.
I know she’s blowing because when she gets up from lying on the floor and there is an outline left behind.  Actually that’s not even an accurate picture of what happens when she rises, it’s really like there’s enough fur on the floor left behind, so that there is enough for an entire second dog.

And that’s exactly what’s going on.  I’ve known that she was starting to shed when hairs started showing up in my morning cup of tea, when my sofa slowly started to have white, fuzzy hairs showing up all over it.  But today, when I came home from work I decided to kick this stupid shed into first gear and forced my pooch into the tub and hosed her down, to be quickly followed by a good brushing.  The better thing to do would be to hose her down outside with a hose, to keep the hair from clogging the drain and making a horrible mess inside the house, but my townhouse doesn’t come with a hook up for the hose in the backyard, so my tub is the place to be, unfortunately.  But I do go out and get myself a special fine mesh cover for my drain so that it’ll catch the hair before it goes down the drain and creates a blockage and then when I’m done I pour Liquid Plumber or similar product into the drain, just to make sure it keeps flowing smoothly and prevent any future problems.
I call it wet combing, and I do it every time she’s shedding.  Huskies have very fine hairs that tend to fly free when you brush their coats, and it ends up in your mouth, eyes and if there is static cling anywhere close by, to your hands and arms.  It’s terrible, but if you wet your dog first, it stops the light weight fluffy hairs from becoming air born and flying around and becoming annoying.  Of course the only problem with wet combing is that it makes a really big mess in the tub.  If any one reading this is thinking of trying it out, I warn you to have something to throw the million or so pounds of soaking wet hair into.  It has to be water proof, for the wet hair.
The other problem is that it really does kick the shedding into high gear.  After the ‘shower’ and when Skye was all dry the hair was just flying off of her, and I had to sit for two hours combing her out, and even then there is still hair coming off of her.
But this is the price of owning a Siberian Husky.  Lucky for me Mal the Wonderpup doesn’t seem to be shedding too much this year, but then he’s only two months old and perhaps just doesn’t have enough fur to actually lose it yet.
About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in home, pets. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

