Katastrophe’s Ballad of the Sickos

Sitting here, listening to Dev’s shows that he’s watching (Mighty Machines, Balamory, William’s Wish Wellingtons are the ones that I’ve had to endure recently) as he’s home today with a slight fever.  It’s nothing serious, but I want to keep him home to make sure it doesn’t get serious. [Suddenly I hear Heath Ledger as the Joker asking me ‘Why so serious?’ Which has become a catch phrase in our house lately.]

And if it wasn’t bad enough that Dev’s home sick today, Hubby’s off work with an ailment too.  He’s all mopey and whiny and going on about how cold he is and then he grabs a blanket, folds it about a million times so that a queen size comforter becomes the size of a small hankey, drapes it over his shoulders and complains that it’s not helping.  When I tell my 39 year old husband that perhaps just covering his shoulders isn’t going to help warm his body he looks at me in shock and asks ‘You think so?’.  I then have to assist him in unfolding said comforter because suddenly when a man gets sick he becomes incapable of actually doing anything for himself.  Actually, men are exactly capable of ever doing things for themselves, but when they have something so minor as a sniffle, they lose the tiny bit of independence that they’ve managed to gain at some point  in their lives and they cry and beg you (the wife) to dote on them and wait on them hand and foot until either you drop down dead or they get better, which ever comes first.

And god help you if you actually come down with what they have because if you expect them to return the wonderful service and show the same level of caring and compassion that you just had for them, forget it sister.  You’re living in some sort of dream world where reality and fantasy rarely, if ever, collide.

Of course the Hubby and Dev aren’t the only ones ill in Katastrophe Residence lately.  Mal the Wonderpup has developed a case of kennel cough, my poor little pooch.  He’s coughing up phlegm whenever he’s able to, and he goes between feeling pretty good and acting like a normal puppy to being slow and lethargic and wanting to just rest.  From what I understand this puppy cold is going to take anywhere between 10-20 days for him to get over.  Yikes!  And I’m more than a tad concerned that Skye will come down with it, but there isn’t much I can do since the bacteria/viruses are air born and I’ve tried to keep them separated all weekend but it’s damned hard to do.

So there are 3 fellows under the weather in my house today, and then there is me.  I’m feeling run down today.  I had to leave work early on Friday night because I was in so much pain.  My back and side felt like they were being ripped apart and I was terrified that it was a gall stone or kidney stone problem once again.  I came home and took some heavy duty pain killers and passed out on the sofa for a couple of hours, when I woke up in the morning the pain was mostly gone, and all that was left was a residual pain that feels like muscle cramping from over exertion.  Even today I’m tender still, and my legs are getting in on the action.  I feel like I ran a marathon, only I haven’t and I can’t explain it.

I’m also super tired because I wasn’t able to fall asleep until well after 2:30 this morning, and I had to get up at 5:30 to get Dev up and ready to leave for school.  Only I didn’t have to get up that early because when I got him up I realized he was sick and would be staying home, which means I could have slept until 6:30 this morning.  I have to admit that the idea of getting an extra hour of rest this morning sounds a lot like heaven.

Oh well no rest for this wicked girl this morning, I have sickos to take care of and a house to put into order before I leave for work this afternoon.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in family, health, Kids, pets. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

