May Long Weekend

Sean and Ceilidh spent the entire May Long Weekend up at Base Borden on a Cadet trip, they left on Friday night at 6:30pm and they came home today at 3:30pm.

Ceilidh’s face is bright red, sort of like a well cooked lobster, while Sean’s face is a nice tan color. Both of them smell as if showers haven’t been invented yet, which let me assure you is very gross.
They both tell me that they had a great time, they did ab sailing (formerly known as repelling down a wall), canoeing and of course they got to shoot off airguns.
While they were gone Hubby and I hung out and did work around the house. Not fun or exciting but it’s the truth. I could lie and claim to have thrown the wildest, most raunchiest party this side of the the Prairies, but then who’d believe me?
We picked up the kids on Monday and when we got home Ceilidh somehow managed to shut the side door on the mini van on her fingers. Or course the automatic locks had already kicked in, and she was at the back of the van so she couldn’t even open the door herself, since she wasn’t able to reach the handle.
Sean was already at the front door, Hubby and myself were already inside and we hear this horrible scream. Folks from the store across the street were running over because honestly it sounded like someone was being murdered.
Sean ran back to the van to open the door, but it was locked. Hubby ran to open the door, but he didn’t have the keys. I was inside, holding Dev in my arms and not able to lay him on the floor because Mal the Wonderpup would have been all over him, licking his face and nibbling on his digits and limbs. So there I am running all over the house with Dev in my arms trying to find the keys, which it turns out Hubby had left in the lock in the door. Doh! The one place I’d never look because that’s where I leave the keys and it drives him insane. In my defense I only leave the keys in the lock until I have time to put them away properly, this way I don’t lose them. Hmm!
So we get the van unlocked and Ceilidh’s hand is saved from the door and it turns out things are alright, she’s not even that hurt. Whew! *breath a sigh of relief*
We came inside the house, made dinner and the two kids collapsed into unconscious, exhausted little gremlins.
The misfortune withe Ceilidh’s fingers and the van door aside, they both had a really great weekend.
About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

