Transformers 2: Revenge of the Fallen

What did I think of Transformers 2: Revenge of the Fallen? It’s a question that I’ve been asked a couple of times since I saw it yesterday with the family.

I think I have to start off by saying that I found it highly entertaining, and well worth the arm and leg that it cost me to get into the theatre to see this movie. The kids were totally ga-ga over it, and came out of the theatre with their eyes larger than saucers and they were jumping and climbing the walls, all the time screaming their love for the various Autobots and there hatred of all things Decepticon.
I have to agree that it was a good, fun time and yes I most likely will see this movie again, actually my first thought was that I’d love to see that again because some of the special effects happened so fast that I’m sure I missed things, as did others in my family which led to the great ‘Bumble Bee ripped that Decepticon’s spine out’ debate of 2009. Hubby swearing that said Decepticon’s spine was ripped from it’s body while the kids were adamant that Bee just crushed him.
The story line was pretty decent, although since the name of the movie is Transformers, I would have thought that there would have been more, you know, Transformers. Actually there were a lot of Transformers, Decepticons. Where the hell were all the Autobots? Oh serving in the Military somewhere. Great!
Most of the movie deals with little Sam and the trials of going off to college, a long distance relationship with his girlfriend and of course some strange Decepticon that I have no clue what it really was, although something along the lines of a Terminator or even better a Cylon might be the best way to describe it.
All through the movie you see poor little Sam being chased, hounded and run in to the ground by the big bad Decepticons, and where are the Autobots? Dealing with the red tape machine that ties up all military operations is my only guess.
I think there were far too many Decepticons introduced for us to keep track of who was what, and not enough of the Autobots. We didn’t get to form any kind of emotional connection with the evil Decepticons, so there was no real happiness when their metal got twisted and their lights shut off forever.
At the same time, Ironhide, Ratchet, Arcee and Sideswipe are all suposed to be there, but along with Major Lennox, they just don’t seem to be as involved in the story. It’s like the writes knew that they couldn’t just ignore what happened with those characters and so they threw them in so that we wouldn’t be questioning what happened with them and at the end of the movie they ride in like the calvary, well sort of.
As for some of the newly added characters, ones that I would call comic relief, being added to the mix. Well I believe that adding another four to the already three existing ones might be a tad on the side of over kill.
Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed the comic relief moments, and the story was pretty well thought out. And over all I enjoyed the movie, I’m just hoping that if there is a third one (keeping fingers crossed) that there will be more Autobot action, and that it won’t be confined to the beginning and the ending of the movie, with a few little scirmishes thrown in here and there, because I love to see some Autobots kicking some Decepticon Metal Ass!
About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

