Daughter is Camping with Cadets

What a weekend, I’m exhausted. I wish I could say that I’m this tired because I was so busy having such a great time on the weekend, but sadly that isn’t the case.

I’m tired because since Thursday morning I was running all over the place, trying to get all the stuff done that needed to get done before I packed my daughter up and sent her on her merry way to Camp Blackdown with cadets.
I think that the thing that is making me feel really tired is that I get to do it all over again this weekend with my oldest son. Only this time I have less time to do it because while my daughter left on Sunday morning, my son is leaving on Saturday morning, a whole hour earlier too!
Then the next weekend I get to drive up to the camp and pick up my daughter. Then on the 14th of August I get to drive all the way to Ottawa and pick up my son. I’d like to make an overnight trip of it, but at this time I’m just not seeing how it’s possible. The funds are super low right now and we need them to pay off our bills. Plus Hubby has been off for a few nights, he hurt himself at work. I think he fell off of a ladder.
I have to say that I’m not missing my daughter, well not in the sense that I’m sitting in her room, hugging her stuffed animals and moaning about how I want her to come home. No I’m missing her in the sense that the house is too quiet and I miss sitting with her and talking in the mornings before any of the stinky boys get up. Also, I’m super outnumbered right now. Sure I’ve got Skye the Hairbeast in my estrogen filled corner but Hubby’s got 2 sons and Mal McBarkerson the Wonderpup in his testosterone one. And while Mal has yet to have his little balls drop, and since what’s there actually isn’t functional anymore, thanks to a visit to the vet where they snipped and they snipped and they ‘took his manhood away‘, and I’m thinking he doesn’t really count in the vote, Hubby has claimed him and there isn’t an argument I can come up with that will make him lay that claim aside.
Not that we’ve had many upsets around here, the only issues we’ve had have circled around the choices of television programming and movie selection and I have to admit that when I’m wanting to watch my ‘girly shows’ the Hubby has happily donned his earphones to muffle out the mushy dialogue and has happily wailed away and killed things on WoW and when he’s wanting to watch his rough ’em up and kill ’em all testosterone driven programming, well I’m in bed already so I don’t give a damn!
All in all I think we’re doing alright, well except for last night when we were buying dinner at a fast food chain fronted by a red headed little girl, and we were buying for the whole family and suddenly I realized that we might have ordered dinner for my daughter and I turned to the Hubby and told him that no matter how much we loved her there was no way in hell we were driving the hour and a half to two hours to bring her a cheeseburger, fries and a pop!
About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in family, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

