Ambush in the Workplace

I had a sit down with my boss yesterday, well actually I guess you could call it an ambush really.

Firstly, I had to hand her this crappy note that I paid $15 to a doctor for that stated I couldn’t work on Aug. 1st but the doctor didn’t want to write anything more and so my boss now is pissed because it doesn’t cover the two days I was off. Oh well, that’s doctors for you.
Then she slams me for a shift that I had given to someone, but there was no paperwork to be found and the other person forgot and never came in. Therefore it’s gone down in the books as me missing my shift. Fine, nothing I can do about that.
Then she tells me I need to redo my availability, and basically I have to be available from open to close everyday Sunday to Saturday. Um no, I can’t close on Sundays and Tuesdays and I like to make one day a week my day off. She laughs at me, says no. I have to be available all the time. She’ll give me the Tuesday because she knows my kids are in Cadets, but any conflicts because of my husbands job are my problem and I’ll have to deal with it. She gives me one of those smug looks and tells me she has to do this with me because I’ve been giving away so many of my shifts lately. She tells me that I also have to work my scheduled shifts, no trading, no giving away from now on.
I say fine, but I want every other weekend off like I’ve been getting for the past 2 years. Nope, she won’t give it. I need folks working weekends, every one’s going to be going through this. Everyone has to be available. And she gives me this really self congratulatory grin as she informs me that I better not try to book the time off either because I won’t be getting it!
What kind of a part time job is this? Not one for me. Well that’s alright because I’ve been looking and talking to someone about a second job because I’m only getting 5 or so hours a week. Nothing over 10, which is bullshit. So now I’m not just going to play with the idea of this other job. I’m now getting serious over it, if only for the fact that I’m going to be able to walk into work with a new availability and throw it in her face and tell her I’ve got this other job because of the hours that you told me I had to take, and now this is when I’m available and if she doesn’t like it I’ll go over her head.
It’s a part time job, why should I have to give up my life because she doesn’t want to hire enough staff to cover all the shifts!
Bitch! Plus she needs to learn how to talk to people, so many times I just wanted to leap across the table and wipe that smug little grin off her face with my fist.
It’s so obvious that she’s doing this to try to make me quit, she even told me back when my son was in the hospital with a collapsed lung that perhaps I should quit and come back when my life is less hectic.
Is she kidding? I’m calling in to tell her my son has been hospitalized and I’m going through hell because he’s not breathing properly and the normal techniques used to help him re inflate his lung aren’t working because of his disability, and this is a nerve wracking time for me, and she’s telling me to quit my job?
Right there I lost any respect I had for that bitch!
About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

