Nothing Sicker than OHIP at the Moment

I’ve always considered myself to be a lucky person to have been born in a country that has a pretty good health care system, and while lately I’ve been pretty upset about some of the funding for services that have been cut back, I’ve always thought that we’ve still had it pretty good.

But then I read this article that states that a report was done in which it was determined that in vitro fertilization procedures should be covered, at least three of them. Right now IVF is covered by OHIP only if the fallopian tubes are blocked, which is fair. But the idea that if the government covers at least 3 procedures they’ll be able to make the clinics that preform these procedures accredited and therefore force them to reduce the amounts of limited births to help reduce future costs to the health care system seems to me to be a bit ludicrous. I mean if that’s the goal, to limit multiple births than why not just say that clinics have to be licensed and in order to maintain that license they have to keep the number of multiple births to a minimum?
In the past few years the services that OHIP covers have been slowly been shaved down, little by little. And in my opinion these services are more vital to the public than IVF.
Eye exams, it used to be you could go and ensure that you had good vision without having to check your pocket book first, not anymore, and while I myself don’t have to purchase any glasses for my own family I am told by those that do that the cost of glasses can be a burden for some families, add on top of that having to pay for the initial exams, and I predict that there are going to be some folks walking around with poor vision.
OHIP has never paid for dental care, and this has always seemed to me to be an oversight. Especially now that it has been determined that periodontal disease can increase the risks of other, more serious diseases and issues such as risk of heart attack and stroke, cancer, diabetes, kidney disease and even premature births in pregnant women. I myself have first hand knowledge that bad teeth and gums can lead to some pretty serious infections.
When I had my rotted wisdom tooth removed I got an infection in my jaw and tooth that had me in some serious pain and it knocked me on my back for about a week. I couldn’t talk, I couldn’t eat and I could barely drink. I was unable to open my mouth and it was one of the worst things that ever happened to me.
There are numerous procedures that OHIP stopped paying for, I can’t find a list of them right now so I don’t want to mention them, for fear of making a mistake, but my point is that they’ve canceled paying for services that are or can lead to larger issues, they have never covered something that can become a serious health risk if neglected, and yet something as elective as trying to have a baby may be covered??
Now I’m not against IVF or even funding for the procedures, but with OHIP cutting the funding for certain necessary medical procedures while claiming that they just can’t keep covering those costs due to dwindling coffers, I can’t see how they can justify those cuts while in turn beginning to cover IVF.
If OHIP is suddenly able to cover such ‘elective’ costs as IVF than perhaps they should go back to funding cut services and perhaps looking into adding services and procedures that would help to limit the amount of people dealing with larger issues that could have been avoided if they’d covered a lesser costing procedure first.
About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

