Seasons May Change

Today is a very chilly day, I mean it’s so cold I actually had to put on socks. I haven’t worn socks since April, yikes!

The weather lately has me wondering just what the sun does when it hides behind storm clouds. Man, Toronto has seen so many storms this year. And each big one seems to have come along at the exact time that I had something in the great outdoors that I wanted to do.
Not to mention that this summer we’ve been disease ridden, what with the nasty colds the kids brought back from camp and infected us with. I’m still hacking and coughing from the nasty one EB brought home.
Because of the injuries we’ve suffered this summer we haven’t even been able to go for nice walks by the lake.
And now the hustle and bustle of back to school preparations begin, which has me feeling both elated and depressed at the same time.
I’m excited because the kids will be gone during the day and I’ll be able to have a quiet house once again, I’ll be able to clean the house without their constant bickering or having to stop what I’m doing to referee them.
At the same time I’ll be sad because we never really got to celebrate this summer together. We only hit the beach once, and that was without Sean and it wasn’t even the beach we enjoy going to. Back to school will suck because once again we’ll be returning to the never ending battle of the homework, the excuses will return for why the forgot their work at school, or didn’t write it down or whatever it is their tiny little brains will convince them will sound like a good reason.
The early morning rush of getting the kids out the door, the alarm waking me up way too early in the morning, the rush of stretching and feeding Dev before his bus comes for him. All the joys that go with getting the kids ready to get out of the house in the morning.
Just thinking about it all makes me start to feel a tad anxious.
But good things come along with the fall, apple picking for one. Mmm, fresh baked apple pies, apple tarts, apple butter and of course apple cider. It kind of makes me hungry just thinking about it.
Of course soon after that is Thanksgiving, Halloween and then Christmas. The time will fly by.
Of course right now I’ve got another week to be home with the kids, so I might as well make the best of it, enjoy it and remember all the reasons why I love the kids to be off for the summer.
About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

