Make Your Kids Walk to School or the Park? Unthinkable!

I don’t get this world today. It feels like I’m out of whack with everything.

The Hubby was reading to me yesterday, reports of parents who got in shit from ‘authority figures‘ such as schools and police because their children walked to a location. One young boy who was in grade one, walked 6 doors to his school with his Mom standing at the end of the drive watching his each and every step. When the teacher asked how he got to school and he very proudly told her that he walked there the teacher refused to allow him to go home, and instead took him to the school office. They attempted to call his Mom and tell her that they weren’t letting him walk home and that she’d have to come and get him, only she wasn’t reachable due to the fact that she was standing at the end of her drive, in a panic as she waited for some sign of him.
One little fellow walked to the park where he was playing soccer and a Mom asked her how he got there and when he told her she informed a police officer who drove the little boy home and told his Mom that if anything happened to this child he’d be back to charge her with endangering a child, neglect and what ever else he could find to lay on her.
Trust me, nobody understands better the need to supervise our young children, but there comes a point when you should allow them a bit of freedom, and if you’re standing at the foot of your drive watching that child’s every step, how can it be wrong?
Then there is my oldest son’s high school, where a lot of his friends get rides from their parents. Now this I don’t get. I mean I thought that by high school these kids would be dying to spread their wings and be attempting to leap from the nest. What I mean is that when I was in high school, that was the time that you began attempting to assert a little independance, to begin to take control of your life and having your parents drive you to school was a shameful occurance and one that everyone avoided like medieval folk avoided the plague.
A kid getting dropped off in front of the highschool would have about the same affect as holding up a sign that said “I have a highly contagious disease, if I breath on you, you could die”. Social suicide.
My kids always complain because all their friends get rides to school and have been for years, and yet there’s me, forcing them to walk those few blocks through the rain and snow. I’m a totally mean parent.
When I was a kid, if my parents gave me a ride I’d think ‘score’ to myself. It was a bonus, not something due to me. And now it’s the farthest thing from that, now a parent that denies their child that lift to the park could be facing possible charges?? I just don’t get how society fell so far and so fast.
About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

