Starting to Get Back on Track Again.

Well I haven’t been working for a few weeks now and I have to say that it’s been nice. My house is actually starting to feel like a home again. Things are starting to be kept in their proper places again, although my kids have been trained while I was working that they can just stick things wherever they can find a space and that’s clean enough. Now I’ve got to retrain them into the mindset that things actually have their proper place and when done with them or putting them away, that’s where they go. They shouldn’t be just shoved wherever. That’s going to be a hard one.

I’ve also been enjoying being home for the kids at lunchtime, my daughter has been coming home for lunch everyday. This allows me to know that she’s eating, something that she actually had stopped doing for the past few years. She’d take her lunch, but then bring it home and hide it in her bedroom closet (gross). Now, not only do I know that she’s eating, but she’s also eating a healthy lunch, with me. Which allows for chatting and bonding.
My oldest son comes home on Mondays, some Wednesdays and Fridays. Tuesdays and Thursdays he’s got choir practice. The Wednesdays he comes home, he’s later than normal, since Wednesdays are his late start days, everything is pushed back a bit. This means that I still get my one on one lunch with my daughter, and I also get one with him, which is nice.
Sadly, my being home hasn’t helped with the motivation and work ethics of my oldest son. I got a phone call from his vice-principal informing me that he has been recommended for the homework club, a nice way of putting, he’s in tutoring because if he doesn’t start to work harder he’s failing his credit. He puttered around on an English project, which I knew. He told me on Monday night (Oct. 12th) that he needed a bristle board to do a project on. When I asked when it was due he told me the next day. WHAT? So he was already in the dog house for that.
But the vice-principal told me that he had an essay that was well past due for his learning strategies class, and when I asked my son about it he told me that it was a project that he didn’t want to do, and he had told the teacher that.
Somehow he’d gotten the insane belief that by telling his teacher he didn’t want to do the essay, that would get him off the hook. Idiot! I asked him who he thought he was? Why did he get to pick and choose his assignments? He had no answer. I told him to get the information about what he had to do for the essay, and that he’d write it. So far he’s telling me that he can’t get the teacher to give him the sheets on the work he was supposed to have done. I don’t care if the teacher won’t accept the work handed in now. I want him to do the work because he can’t just say ‘No, I’m not doing it.’ and get away with that.
So now on Wednesday nights, after school my oldest son will be getting his work done at school. He’s knee deep in it now, so far he’s the most miserable little cuss on the planet. Yesterday he spoke to me very rudely, and for no reason because I wasn’t even talking to him, and I sent him to his room to stare at the wall. I know he was because we spied on him. He’s acting like we did this to him, he just doesn’t see that he’s brought this on himself.
I’m also feeling a little cut off from the world right now. I think I need to join a club or something to get me out of the house and communicating with people again. Since I quit work I haven’t really talked to anyone outside of my family. I’d join some of the committee’s here in my Co-Op but that would mean being sucked into the negative vortex of doom again, and I just can’t handle that.
During the nice weather I’d take the dogs out and meet lots of dog walkers, and we’d chat and it was nice. But it’s getting chillier now and that means nobody wants to stop and chat. They want to get their dog out, give it the exercise and then get back to their nice warm houses again.
I guess slowly but surely I’m getting a handle on all the things that went wild while I was working, and I’m going to be watching my son like a hawk now. I trusted him when he said he had no homework and that he’d gotten it done at school. He played me for an idiot, and now I know that, so I’ll be less trusting from now on.
I learned that he’s a sneaky little bloke, he’ll learn that Mom won’t let him get by with that.
About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Starting to Get Back on Track Again.

  1. Jenn says:

    >I'm glad things are getting better for you. Sorry about your oldest's attitude. I am sincerely dreading the days when my kids will be teens. If they end up anything like me then I am in TROUBLE.

Share Your Thoughts

