I’ve Got Troubles

I don’t know if it’s because the veil between the shadows of the netherworld and this one are particularly thin today and I’ve pissed off some people who have passed from this realm to the next or if it’s just a karma thing or a luck thing but right now in my world the shit has hit the fan.

The real reason for my lack of updates lately are because my world has slowly been crashing down around me. I quit my job and based on our financial status it was a good decision. Then a week and a half later I got the notice that my son’s financial assistance has been cut off because I earned too much money the year before. They won’t assess again for another year.
So we’re slowly slipping into a large crevice and all our bills are starting to pile up on us because we need that money to live and buy him accessible equipment, etc.
Then Thursday night the car springs a leak and Hubby misses work yesterday to take it in and get it looked at. $600 later and we’ve got our car back with a new water pump and drive belt. So last night we drive a total of 2 blocks and things start to look not right. We park it for the night and wait. This morning it’s looking much better. Nothing is leaking.
So Hubby drives the car, he took our oldest son to his hockey game a few streets over. He came home and said it’s driving great. So he packed the son into the car and drove him to meet his cadet corp. It’s a fifteen minute drive.
Two hours later I was sitting at home panicking about where he was.
For those of you who do not know, my parents and one of my brothers were in a car accident when I was about 13. The car was towed to my house, the entire front end of the car was crushed. I asked the driver what happened and he couldn’t tell me. He said he was just told to bring the car home.
So I sat in the house for a few hours waiting for some news of my family. I was home alone, babysitting my Baby Bro. Finally my parents came home and apologized for freaking me the hell out (I was in tears and was a severe wreck by the time they got home from my brothers hockey try out, which they went to and never even thought to give me a call about the car and let them know I was alright. And then they wondered why I never thought I needed to give them a call and let them know where I was or if I was alright when I hit my teen years.)
Anyways, the point of this little story is that now whenever people are late or overdue coming home by about 45 minutes or so, I begin to panic.
So I’m sitting here with a sick daughter upstairs in bed (high fever and lethargic, keeping my eye on her in case it’s Swine) and a youngest son watching me pace back and forth between the phone and the window. I’m sending vibes out for the Hubby to call home, but of course he doesn’t.
Finally he pulls up and tells me the car overheated. He took it to two different mechanics. The first one (the owner of the shop, and the place that replaced the water pump and drive belt) tells Hubby that the head gasket is gone and needs replacing, it’ll be another $1000.
The owner heads home and the mechanic turns to Hubby, a guy we went to highschool with, and tells him that the owner is gouging him and that he should take it to this other place. Hubby does and this guy tells him that we basically should just sell the car and buy a new one because the engine is damaged and we could get work done to fix it, but it’ll be thousands of dollars and in the long run a new used car would be cheaper.
This means that I now have to return to work in order to pay for a new car and get us out from all this financial crap. I know that once the assisstance reassess we’ll get our funding back, since I earned crap this year and Hubby did as well. But who can wait until next year at this time for the money to kick back in.
I’m sending them my record of employment to show them that I’m not earning that money anymore, plus if the worker needs I can send in all my paystubs to show that even when I was working I was earning crap hours.
Maybe that’ll help us out a bit, but I’ll still need something to get the car and hopefully save Christmas.
Always when we get ourselves to the shore another wave comes crashing over our heads to pull us back into the undertow.
About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

