Pig & Car Conspiracy

Wow, so much has happened since I last updated that it seems like months have past, not the 19 days since my last update.
You’re wondering what the heck I’ve been up to, well let me tell you that I’ve been to hell and I’m still not even back all the way yet.

First of, Thursday Oct. 29th our car started to spurt vital fluids all over the road. Everywhere we went there was a trail of vibrant green liquid left in a trail on the ground behind us. If it’d been red folks would have been thinking we’d massacred a small family and stuffed them into our trunk and were now leaving a trail of their crimson vital fluid on the road as we passed. Lucky for us anti-freeze doesn’t look like blood in any way, or I’d be writing this from a city jail.
The Hubby’s job is located way the hell on the other side of the city, so he takes the day off of work to go and take the car to the mechanic and get it looked at.
$600 later and we’ve got a new water pump and drive belt thing-a-ma-jingie, the only problem is that it turns out it was more than just the water pump and drive belt thing-a-ma-jingie that’s wrong with the car. It seems that the head gasket or the drive manifold or something huge and enormous is now busted in the car and we just spent $600 getting a piece of shit, dead car fitted with a new water pump. So our car has bit the big one and we’re now in search of a new car. I’ll keep you updated on how that goes. Remember that we’ve got a disabled son in a wheel chair that we need to buy at least a minivan to get around in, a car won’t do because the damn wheel chair doesn’t fold down. (Who’s stupid idea was that anyway? Oh mine, well shut up. It seemed like a good idea at the time!)

Now, I pick my Nephew up at school on Friday because we’re taking him to the Charity haunt because we did that together last year and we enjoy going to it and bringing the Nephew with us. He informed me as we were walking along from his school that he thinks we should go to the Charity Haunt together every year, which honestly sounds like a good idea.

While we’re at the haunt my daughter begins to have a major asthma attack and has to go sit down (fumes from the chainsaws were choking her up). While she was heading to the car she coughed so hard she ended up puking out her guts. (Eww!)
We manage to last long enough to get through the Haunt and it was pretty amazing, at one point the ghoulies inside cut my daughter off from us and pinned her in a corner. All the while I thought she was behind me because another ghoulie had gently laid it’s hand on my back just as my daughter had been doing. When I turned around to say something to my daughter I nearly crapped in my pants.
“Ahhh. You’re not my daughter!” I screamed at the pasty white face that was streaked with blood and it screamed back at me. “Ahhh!” Yessire, needed clean undies after that.
We headed home after that, all the while Nephew going on about how he wasn’t scared, even though he ran screaming from the zombies out front of the haunt. Nope, he wasn’t scared at all (insert sarcasm here).

My daughter went to bed as soon as we got home, and after her asthma attack I didn’t think a thing about it.
Come the morning I go to wake her up, her face is flushed and she’s burning up. She’s sick. She missed Halloween.
Next morning the Hubby is feeling like crap and he can’t catch his breath. He goes to the hospital and is gone all day. Meanwhile I feel like crap, my daughter seems to be feeling a bit better but not much and my youngest son is feverish as well.
Hubby comes home hours later wearing a surgical like mask that the hospital gave to him, and he grimaces as he tells me that he’s got H1N1, confirmed at the hospital. Since my daughter, Hubby and myself all feel the same we figure we all got it.
Let me tell you, you do not want this flu. It really kicks your ass. My entire body hurt, I had high fever and all my energy was gone. It still is gone, well now it’s coming and going but Wow it was awful for the first week or so.
Everybody in my family was put on quarantine. Nobody went to school or work. Only my oldest son didn’t get it, and sadly that meant that he ended up playing nurse to all of us.
I tell you that he was a life saver because I could never have looked after my family the way I was feeling. I wish there was something that I could do for that boy to show my appreciation for him stepping up and helping out like that. Most 15 year old boys would have let their parents rot while they went out trolling for chicks and spending their inheritance.

So we’re all on the mend now, we’re beginning to look for a new vehicle and things are starting to get back on track.
I only have one suggestion for anyone out there who is actually reading this, if you get the chance get the H1N1 flu shot. It’s worth it to not have to suffer like this. Even on Sunday I was feeling pretty crappy and nearly passed out in the middle of the grocery store and when I got home I hit the sofa for a nap because I thought I was going to hurl, while the kids put all the groceries away.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in health, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

