2012: The Disaster of a Movie

It took me some time to chew over everything that I saw in 2012 and I have to say that as a movie it was like a glass of lukewarm tea, it had promise of being something that I wanted and yet it failed to deliver.
Sure it had all these special effects but in the end they were repetitive and did not leave me clinging to the edge of my seat, and let me tell you folks it doesn’t take a lot to bring me to the edge of my seat.
I found it to be predictable in the storyline, and at the very start of the movie I was able to pretty much guess who was going to live and who was going to die.
I found the entire movie to be so typical of Hollywood these days, very formulaic. They followed the outline for most of the disaster movies that are out there.
The troubled family, the children of divorce. The new man in Mom’s life and the kids that love him and wonder why Daddy doesn’t like him, and yet the kids aren’t all that into Dad because he’s so absent from their lives. Ooo, how sad and emotional. Not!

The biblical epic of the world being destroyed in a flood, I felt kind of let down. From the commercials I thought that the world was going to explode and Humanity would be left adrift in space in search of a new planet to call home. That would have been epic, and so sellable as a sequel or even a TV bit. Or is that just a tad to much BSG?

I didn’t get attached to any of the characters so when they died there was no sadness, actually I was actually relieved when a few of them kicked the bucket. The only person I enjoyed in this movie was Woody Harrelson, he was a light in the darkness people. But then it’s Woody, when doesn’t his character portrayal in a movie kick ass?

Now my teenage kids seemed to enjoy this movie completely, but then they don’t look at plot devices and characterization, they don’t give a crap about weak assed storylines. They are movie special effect whores people, shit blew up, buildings were crashing down everywhere, the world as we know it was being destroyed and that my faithful readers is all that they cared about.

So if that appeals to you, go see 2012 because you’ll enjoy it. If not, save your money and see something else, maybe rent it on DVD when it comes out.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

