Let’s Visit Your Friendly Nephrologist

I woke up yesterday and one of the first things I did was look for the slip of paper that the hospital had sent to me, it was a photocopy of the fax that confirmed that Dev had an appointment booked with the Nephrologist.  I searched high and low, I hunted through every scrap of paper that I could find and this paper was not to be found.  It’s gone.
So I have to get on the phone and call Sick Kids in the hopes that perhaps there’s a notation in his file that says which Doctor we’re supposed to be seeing.  Nope.  So I have to call the other hospital and try to figure out which doctor it might be.  I called info and asked if they had any idea which clinic he’d be going to and the receptionist laughed and told me that the hospital is mostly a renal hospital so it could be any number of clinics that he’s being seen at. So I ask for the numbers for all those clinics and begin to call each and everyone of them.  At each one I ask ‘Does Dev have an appointment with you today?” and lucky me I managed to track down the doctor, the clinic and discovered that I had the wrong time.  We would have been waiting around for almost 2 hours if we’d gone when I thought the appointment was.  Oops!

We get to the appointment and Dev gets on his most frowny of frowns and no matter how nice the nurses and doctors were he would not smile.  He just kept looking at everyone with an expression that clearly stated ‘I will not be poked by any sharp objects today and you are not suckering me in with your pleasant smiles and friendly attitude.  I know you want to stick me with a needle and it’s not happening.  Do you hear me?”
It was kind of funny.

Everything went well with the appointment, we’ve got some more urine tests that need to be done, since the doctor wants to see if he’s improved any since he was sick because sometimes when you’re sick you don’t get a real idea of where someone’s levels are.  If those come back with good levels then we’re just monitoring and ensuring that he doesn’t get any worse. At this point she’s thinking that he won’t need medication to equalize his levels, and that’s a good thing.

This is a relief, although I’m not getting all celebratory yet.  Not until the results from his urine are back.
We have to see her again in February for another ultra sound and more blood and urine testing, this will be to monitor and make sure that he’s not getting worse.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in health, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let’s Visit Your Friendly Nephrologist

  1. Jenn says:

    >I'm thinking of you & hoping everything comes out fine! xoxoP.S. love the layout!

Share Your Thoughts

