Last Day Before Christmas Holidays

The last day of School before Christmas Break and I wake up with a raging migraine.  I tried to get up early to finish off some of the stuff that I should have done last night but I wouldn’t be me if I didn’t procrastinate a bit, so there.
The alarm went off and I knew instantly it was going to be bad when it felt like someone with a clever just sliced through my skull and brain.  Yup, not a good sign at all.
I took a headache pill and went to lie down in the darkness but sadly it didn’t help.  Well not for about an hour or so, and by then things were really mucked up.  Devlin was already late getting up, his lunch wasn’t finished being packed, his gifts for his classmates were sitting there waiting for my pen to finish addressing them, and I had not laid out his clothes the night before.
Hey, I tried to hint above that Procrastination IS my middle name.  Don’t doubt me!

Lucky for me I have two very amazing older children, they crawled out of bed before the agreed upon scheduled time and wizzed around this house like little dervishes, helping me get The Son ready and out the door.  [insert mad applause for my older kiddles here please and thank-you]

Ceilidh has decided to eat lunch at school today, to help me out, to give me relief for my aching brain and probably because there’s stuff going on and she doesn’t want to miss any of the holiday fun.  I’m putting my bet on that last one being the real reason and the rest she’s just throwing in so it makes her look spectacular in my eyes, which it does, so Bravo to her.

Sean went into school early so that I can have a nice and quiet house to allow my head to heal, that was his story and he was sticking to it.
Even the dogs have been quiet all day long.

To make matters worse, before Sean left for school he was rummaging around in the kitchen cupboard above the sink for some cans to donate for the food bank drive at his school.  After he left I went into the cupboard to see if I’d hidden any pain relief pills in there because I’d run out with that one I took earlier and that one wasn’t helping that well.
When I opened the door a large can of Chunky Soup fell out and barely missed hitting me in the forehead.  It did land in the sink though, which just happens to be the exact place I always tell the kids to put their dirty glasses.  Sadly this morning Ceilidh actually listened to me, and she put her favorite glass in there.

It’s here Uhura glass that she got from Burger King this past summer when the Star Trek movie came out.  The can landed on it and didn’t just take a chunk out of it, or break a piece off.  No, it shattered the glass.  It smashed it into about 4 or 5 large pieces and countless other little shards.  Luckilly this glass is not something that she’ll be heart broken over, but I know that she’ll forever bug me about being safe when I open the cupboard over the kitchen sink from this point on.  And that irks me.

I decided that this Uhura smashing event meant that I should just go back to bed, so that’s exactly what I did, until this afternoon, when everything sort of hit the fan though, right as Sean got home my brain started to feel like it was going to kill me.  Seriously, I expected it to leap out of my left ear, run into the kitchen and grab one of my rather dull kitchen knifes and attempt to gut me.  Of course the knife being dull would make that a rather difficult job, but since my brain is part of me, I’m figuring that it would be way too stubborn to give in for something like that.
Sean called my Mom and made plans to fetch me some wonderful pain relief pills, did I fail to mention that I was suffering through all of this without the help of any kind of Tylenol or Advil or any other pills of similar ilk?  Well I was.
But lucky me, the Hubby got home right then and with a hop, a skip and a jump my Hubby and son managed to fetch me some wonderful extra strength Advil and jammed two of those suckers down my throat faster than a junkie can fix themselves a hit (or whatever they’re calling getting high these days).

This all made me feel better after a bit of time had passed and it’s a good thing to because Dev came home all full of happiness and that means lots of loud outbursts of noise that others may call screams or wails.  He was happy though, and that’s always a good thing.
Santa came to visit his school today and I’m guessing that’s the reason for his extreme happiness.  Or perhaps it’s because he’s heading over to my Mom’s tomorrow while the Hubby, myself and the rest of the kids all head out to grab a tree.  Which we will be putting up at my Moms and then we’ll be hanging out there for the rest of the night, decorating that sucker, singing songs and decorating a gingerbread house too!
Of course I’m assured by my brother Bob, that there shall be large quantities of egg nog and lemon dill hummus on hand.  I’m not sure how well those two things will go together, but you can bet a million dollars on the fact that by tomorrow night I’ll be able to tell you, unless there’s a lot of rum or even better Bailey’s Irish Cream in my egg nog.  If there are copious amounts of alcoholic additions to my egg nog then I won’t be saying much to anybody until the morning at least.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in holidays, Kids, school. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

