The Road

This past week I was sick.  That’s all I’m going to say about that because Holy Hannah, I take up to much time complaining about the ills of my health.  What am I sixty already?

Other highlights of the week, well The Son decided to have an all nighter which meant that I had to have an all nighter.  He kept me up all Tuesday night and all day Wednesday, which is lovely for someone’s immune system when it’s trying to fight off a bug already, but enough of that.
So The Son was home from school on Wednesday and very cranky to boot, you should have gotten more sleep kid.  So by the time Thursday morning came around I was more than ready to shove that kid out the door and onto his bus, only one problem, Mom slept through the damn alarm clock.  So once again The Son got to be home with his Mom and drive her just a little more insane, thank-you very much.
Friday comes along and I’m actually up on time and ready to shove that kid out the door and what do you think he does? He has this grand daddy of all coughing fits and I start to think that maybe this kid is coming down with whatever the crap I’ve been fighting off so I decide to keep him home.
As soon as nine o’clock hits do you know what my little shit glorious son does?  He pulls a complete about face and becomes the healthiest kid on this planet.  Yup, he faked his mother out.  The queen of all fakers, and he pulled the wool over her head.  Crap!

In news related to other children that sprang from my uterus, The Boy has been off writing his exams for school this week.  This has sent me into a tizzy because suddenly it dawned on me that I am now the parent of a true to life high school student (don’t ask me why the first day of school didn’t clue me in, who knows how my mind works).
So my boy has spent the past week studying, yeah ok I know that’s a far fetched one, more like he has spent the past week pretending to study to keep Mom off of his back and going to the school to write his tests, and somehow he still managed to squeeze in an active social life.  Once his final exam was written it was open season on hanging with his friends, and let me tell you he squeezed in as much fun as he could.
But as of Wednesday he’s starting up his second semester and that means that this boy is going into his harder of the two semesters.

It’s funny how you start off on a journey in your life and you think to yourself that you know just how it is that you are going to place each and every step so that the path you leave behind will be strait and direct and easy for any that come after you to follow, but when you stop and look behind, you realize that the path you left wasn’t straight and direct at all but in fact filled with turns and bumps and even a few places where you had to do U-turns or back up and retrace your steps because you lost your direction completely.  Funny that!
That’s how I’m sort of feeling at the moment.  I feel like I’m getting close to reaching a milestone in my life and now when I look behind me I see that there is no way anyone coming after me will be able to follow my footsteps.   I see now that I had to take many detours and there were more than a few wrong turns along the way.  But I’m proud of the road I took, no matter how many times I had to stop and ask for directions, no matter how many times I had to retrace my steps so I could get back onto the beaten path, I’m happy for this journey and wouldn’t trade it in for anyone elses.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

