January’s Gone

It’s the end of January, and as months go I have to say that this one moved slower than snail snot when it’s frozen to the handle of a garden rake that someone forgot to put away before the frosts of winter arrived.
This past month I didn’t update as often as I would have liked to, but that’s mostly because there wasn’t much to write about, other than the continuous health battles we’re going through in my family, and the fact that I’ve had The Son home home with me more this month than I’d care to admit.

The weather has been nice, not too cold and not that much snow really.  Now that I’ve said that, I’m sure we’ll be getting hit hard by some winter storms.  Drat, should have kept my mouth shut!

The Boy has gone through his first rounds of exams at school, and I’ll find out in a couple of days when he picks up his marks how he’s done.  Judging by the amount of work he’s put in this semester I’m not expecting grades that will knock my socks off.

The Daughter is now neck deep in hunting for a high school, and I’ve got the paperwork to hand in for one school that seems like it could be nice but I’m worried that I’m seeing it through rose colored glasses and it’ll turn out to be just another case of sticking my daughter in a corner and just letting her do her time in school until she’s ready to get out into the working population.  Or even worse, I’m underestimating what my daughter is capable of achieving and therefore doing her a huge disservice by sending her to this school that seems to centre around getting them ready to enter the working world and less on the academics.  Sure, they say that they have special classes and tutors that will help a child reach their full potential, and that’s great.  But what if that’s just a smoke and mirrors.  What if it’s just an illusion that parents who don’t really give a crap or know better can buy into and not have to worry about their conscious as much.
I’ve gone down this road with my daughter far too many times to take the outline of a course at face value.  The reality has always fallen short in the past and I’m scared that this is going to be just another time in a long list of failed schooling attempts.
My daughter has been in special classes since the age of 5, going back and forth from school to school, never making any friends and always afraid to get attached to someone because she probably won’t be back at that school again next year so what’s the point anyway?
She’s been in so many different special ed classes, since Senior Kindergarten and it wasn’t until three years later that she was diagnosed with Dyslexia, and it wasn’t until a year after her diagnose that she actually started to get help in school for that.  So really my daughter hasn’t been ‘taught’ for most of her school career.
The first year they were testing her and judging to see what level she was at in schooling, so that means that my daughter has really only been getting ‘taught’ for the past four years, and the last time she was tested she was already almost at a grade six reading level.  It think that’s pretty darn brilliant.
But she’s been in the same program for those past five years, and now she’s moving on to a new one and that scares me.  What if they leave her to hang like has happened in the past?
It’s all very nerve wracking, my constant worrying over what the right decision is to be making for my daughter.

Other news in January, Hubby’s foot is still the same as it was back in July when it first got hurt.  His therapist is saying it’s going to be another eight to ten months before we see any improvement and if they don’t see any improvement by then they may start to look into surgery for him.  They sent a letter to his work telling them not to expect a speedy recovery on this, and his work has now put him into a dispatching capacity which now turns out means he may be working one or two Saturdays a week, which I’m hoping won’t cut into his time helping out coaching The Boy’s hockey team.

The Hubby and The Boy are spending lots of time together, bonding over stuff that Geeky Fathers do with their Geeky Sons.  Which is awesome.  It looks like it means that I’ll be left at home on Sundays with the Daughter and The Son, and I’m not complaining.  Actually it’s got me thinking that maybe I can figure out something special to do with the Daughter on those days, of course it’ll be a bit difficult with the Son lurking around but I’m sure if I put my head to it I’ll be able to figure something out.

I think that’s about it for January, hopefully February will be a little more light hearted.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in Kids, school. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

