Not Quitting Knitting

For most of my life I couldn’t have cared less about knitting, learning to knit, or anything else to do with two long potentially sharp sticks of metal that is used to wind and knot a strand of yarn into some kind of concoction that one could possibly wear.
In my mind, whenever I thought of knitting and knitters I always saw those super ugly and tacky sweaters made by out of touch grandmothers who insist that pink woolly sweaters on teen boys look adorable, especially with that so cute bunny rabbit on the chest.  We all know the cliche.
So, a couple of years ago when my daughter got a learn to knit kit for Christmas I didn’t give it much thought, until I started to leaf through the pages and realized that the projects inside were not in fact ugly or tacky.  When the Daughter didn’t take to wielding those pointy metal sticks to weave the yarn into something wearable I thought to myself “Why not give it a try and try to entice her with how great a time you’re having making some of these things.”
The learn to knit kit comes complete with wool, knitting needles, crochet hook, sewing needle and a book full of easy to understand instructions and diagrams to help you teach yourself to knit and also a few projects that are great for beginner knitters.  If you are interested in giving it a try, I highly recommend this knitting kit.
I didn’t think I would enjoy knitting, actually I thought it would be pretty ull and boring.  So, imagine my surprise at discovering that I was actually really enjoying myself.  I finished a couple of the projects, but I wasn’t happy with how they looked so I unwound them and started over.  Now, a few years later and I’m much happier with my gauge and technique, so I’m thinking it’s time to give it a try once more.  Time to make a hat, a scarf or a hand bag for the Daughter.  She’d love it, and if I hand over to her an honest to goodness finished piece that she can find isn’t ugly or tacky, perhaps she’ll get bit by the knitting bug and join me as I sit on the sofa, knitting needles clicking away and glinting in the light..

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in Kids, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

